6 Comments

Alphabet Blogging: G is for…

Growing.

There are so many jobs that fall on an author’s shoulders nowadays. Not only do we have to be continually honing the craft of writing, but we have to be marketers and savvy business managers. We have to have at least rudimentary grasp of the publishing world, how to tell if contracts are any good or not, how to navigate the digital side of the world…there are so many ways that an author has to learn and grow.

Thankfully, there are a lot of ways to do that in this day and age–we can attend conferences, listen to audiobooks and podcasts, read books and blogs, take courses, watch vidoes…there are dozens of options. Growing and learning has never been easier.

If I may, I’d like to share some of my favorite resources for writers:

*One of my favorite writing courses are these free online lectures from Brandon Sanderson’s class at Brigham Young University. These video lectures are, in my opinion, invaluable for fantasy and science fiction authors.

*Looking for a good resource about the business side of writing? Kristin Kathryn Rusch’s business blog archives are some of the best I’ve found.

*Are you really into finding the exact, perfect word to describe something? Years ago, a dear friend bought me a copy of the Flip Dictionary. My copy is dog-eared and almost falling apart.

*The Emotion Thesaurus is another book I’ve dog-eared, though I’ve only had it a few years. It’s perfect if you want to zoom in on the exact type of body language and unique tells characters might give with each emotion they feel.

*If you really like writing realistic characters and digging into what makes them tick, another book I highly recommend is Brandilyn Collins’ Getting Into Character.

*And of course, Self-Editing For Fiction Writers is an absolute must-have.

*And if you like to meet up with other authors in person, I’ve heard the ACFW conference is a good one. I’ve never made it, but I have attended both years of Realm Makers–so if hanging out with nerds is your thing, then come join us! 🙂

Hopefully this has been helpful, and gives you guys a good place to start! Do you have a favorite book, podcast, or other useful writing tools that has helped you grow as an author? Please share in the comments!

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

6 comments on “Alphabet Blogging: G is for…

  1. Jeff Gerke’s work on putting together plot has probably taught me more than any other one book on writing in my library (in this case, e-books).

    Thanks for your own list of sources!

  2. These are great, Heather. Thanks!

  3. I have nothing yet to draw from other than what John is helping me with. We are attempting to collaborate on a writing project. It is a lot of time, effort and given I never was allowed to use imagination as a child or watch science fiction, I am finding out how difficult it is. We are going through a series of questions he poses to help me get the creative juices flowing.By the time we are done, I hope I have a fermented fine wine to produce. Time will tell. I appreciate all the links and sources and information you provided here. Perhaps we will be in need of incorporating them into what we will do.
    Thanks
    Yisraela

  4. Glad everyone found them useful!

Leave a Reply

