2 Comments

Chocolate Friends and Books

Photo by Gretchen EK EngelYes, I have the hubris to quote myself. One of my favorite sayings is, “I prefer my chocolate and friends in quality not quantity.” I’m amending that to books.

For the past 4-5 years I’ve set out to read 100 books per year and won that goal. I devoured light, fun fiction. The past two years I have added theology books to my read stack.

Inspired by my love of the Hamilton soundtrack and listening to history books on our car trips (my husband and son’s picks), I’ve decided to select a few books and read or listen to them to learn. My focus is on the Founding Fathers and the first century or so of our great nation.

And evidently I’m in dire need. The phrase “course of human events” came up in conversation, and I said, “I think that comes from the Declaration of Independence or the Constitution.”

Um yeah, they’re the opening words of the Declaration of Independence. Fortunately, I have a copy of it and the Constitution, which along with a chronological reading of the Bible are my first reading of 2019.

Are you planning on reading any history books or biographies in 2019?

About Gretchen E K Engel

Chemical engineer by day, spec fiction writer by night

2 comments on “Chocolate Friends and Books

Leave a comment