10 Comments

Managing Time

Working full-time has really caused me to reevaluate how I spend my time.

Trying to fit in time with family and friends, making time for my writing, reading, exercising, and so many other things has proved to be a unique challenge.

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Surprisingly, I find myself getting more accomplished now than I did before. I think part of this is because I’m once again realizing how limited and precious my time outside of the day job is.

This past weekend I sat down with my planner and tried to think of ways I could manage my time better. Sadly, getting out of bed earlier made one of the top points of that list. 😦 Drinking more coffee followed soon after.

“You may delay, but time will not.”
― Benjamin Franklin

I have a half hour commute to work every day. One thing I’ve tried out recently is listening to audio books while I’m driving.

Honestly, I didn’t think I could get into audio books. The few I’ve tried in the past, (The very few;) either had a voice that sent me straight to sleep or one that annoyed me so badly I couldn’t concentrate on the story.

I’m glad I gave it another shot. I bought the audio book for Linger the second book In Maggie Stiefvater’s Wolves of Mercy Falls series. The voices were perfect!

My budget is a little tight right now with my building project coming up, but one audio book should last me about two weeks, so all in all not bad.

I love that I’m able to multi-task a little this way, and I love that my long drive to work has become quite a bit more enjoyable as well. Of course, I’ll still be reading my books as well. 🙂

Do you have any tips for managing your time during the busy work week?

 

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

10 comments on “Managing Time

  1. I find that being busy makes me more productive, because of the routine. When I was single and working, I could produce up to 70k words a month. Now that I have kids and a husband, I can only do 30k, but the routine is still everything.

    Also, when you run out of audiobooks, load up on podcasts! They’re free and plentiful. I’ve learned so much from Writing Excuses with Brandon Sanderson.

    • Wow! That’s an amazing word count. I really want to get into a steady routine soon.
      I will definitely try some podcasts. Thats a really good idea. I’ll put Sanderson’s on my list too. Thanks!
      Hope your writing week is going well! ☺

  2. Ooo I haven’t listened to audio books when driving before! I admit that I love listening to the radio so I’m not sure if I could do that, but I found sometimes setting the timer for a short amount of time and doing the most I can before it goes off has helped. 🙂

    • I’m a fan of the radio too, or more specifically, my CD collection. 😊
      A timer is a fantastic idea! I’m really excited to see what I can get accomplished. 🙆
      Sending coffee and tea your way. ☕

  3. Considering I have a 30-second commute to work… LOL.

    I take advantage of the little moments. Read books or blogs in the car (doing so now). Study at the siblings’ ball game (that I didn’t really want to go to anyway).
    Making more time in a day helps too. Like staying up until 1 a.m. and getting up at 6. I don’t recommend it unless you have plenty of coffee in stock, though.

    • Taking advantage of the little moments is something I really need to work on. So many times I just think, well not enough time to get anything done now. 😰
      Bring on the coffee!!! ☕☕

  4. Commuting is a time sink. Used to do it a lot, an hour each way. Ugh.

    How about library audio books? Although they likely won’t have a great Christian speculative fiction selection, it might free up the budget. Some libraries also let you download books/audio books for a time, through an interlibrary loan system. Increases the options. Happy listening!

    Karen

    • An hour one way is so rough! 😲

      I know this sounds really bad for a writer, but I hadn’t even thought about getting audio books from the library. Lol.
      That’s a great idea. Free is always nice!
      Hope your writing week is going well!

Leave a Reply

