5 Comments

Re-Read

Life’s been busy lately. Super busy. Yet I always try to make time to read something. Currently I’m doing a re-read of Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson. Again? It just came out in March! Yep….it’s that good. But it got me thinking. How often do people re-read stories? For example, I only re-read stories I love. Sometimes three or four times. Unless their villains are too creepy (Yes, I’m talking to you Steven James). Is that the norm? Or is it particular to the speculative genre? How often do you guys and gals re-read a story? I want my stories to be worthy of a second pass. What would make you get lost in a story for a second or third time?

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

5 comments on “Re-Read

  1. Memorable characters and plots that sweep me away so completely I want to visit the world again and again.

    Thief of Time by Terry Pratchett
    The Testament by John Grisham
    Besieged Heart by Jennifer Blake
    Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

    It’s sad, though, when a book doesn’t hold up as well as first remembered. I regret reading the Twilight series a second time (Oh, *that’s* why people can’t stand Bella. Sheesh.) 🙂

  2. Who’s Steven James?
    No, it’s not peculiar to the speculative genre.
    Yes, memorable characters and plots – and settings – that sweep me away so completely I want to visit the world again and again.

  3. It’s exactly that: I re-read stories that I “get lost in” every time I pick them up. It’s not necessarily something I can pinpoint, but there are some worlds I want to experience again and again, or some characters that I could “hang out with” repeatedly without tiring of them.

    The Vorkosigan series by Lois McMaster Bujold. “The Silver Sun” by Nancy Springer. The Fruits Basket manga series. Those are ones on my shelf that I come back to again and again, like comfort food for my brain.

  4. Hello – this photograph, for the record, is created and owned by me, Jennifer Zwick. Just as you wouldn’t want someone to republish an entire short story of yours without your name on it, my artwork may not republished anonymously. Jennifer Zwick (http://www.jenniferzwick.com/work/photography/constructed-narrative/the-reader)

Leave a Reply

