Leave a comment

WIP Report for August 2013

NAF WIP Aug 2013A bit slow getting it up, but still here! Enjoy.

Avily Jerome:

Title: The Days of Noah
Draft: First
Current Word Count: Est 85,000
Target Word Count: 85,000
Target Complete Date: Done!

Biggest Struggle this month: Never enough time in the day

Biggest Success: Finishing the first draft before Realm Makers

 

Kristen Stieffel:

Title: Boh’s Abdication
Condition: Editing First Draft
Current Word Count: 80,568
Target Word Count: 100,000
Finish Date: Feb. 25, 2014

Biggest struggle this month: Learning that the cost of health insurance will basically wipe out my profit for the year. I enjoy being self-employed, but some aspects of it really stink.

Biggest Success: My Realm Makers seminar went over very well. I got lots of compliments on it, including from Kathy Tyers, who said she enjoyed it immensely. (squee!)

Favorite line you’ve written lately: “It’s been a while since I was slapped around by a Makutian. I suppose I was overdue.”

Quick link: https://www.facebook.com/RealmMakers — In the Timeline posts, several people including me and Grace Bridges posted photos from the conference.

Will Ramirez:

WIP Title: Sky Calling

Current Word Count: 50.000

Expected Word Count: 105,000

Goal Finish Date: September 30, 2013

First Draft

Biggest Challenge you’ve faced last month: Having such a difficult time finding a house really got me down. When I get down, I tend to not write very much. I had some time to write earlier this month that got squandered because I wasn’t “in the mood”.

Biggest Success: The last two weeks have been way productive for me. I almost churned out 20,000 words this month and most of it has been in the last 10 days.

Favorite line you’ve written lately: “Alazon would never take me back, nor would I come. I’ve found the only God who’s worthy of my life.”

A Helpful Link to Pass along: http://www.medievalcollectibles.com/   Cool website that gives good pictures on medieval clothing and weapons. Very helpful for description.

Ren_smalRen Black:

Honestly I can’t even claim a “current WIP”. I’ve been dabbling in three but mostly between my short story Jeweler’s Son and the first draft of Dragon City (sequel to Dragon Seal). Dabbling is the best I can claim since there’s been no real word count progress to speak of.

I have been brainstorming elements for this and that, such as my thief character, Cat is about to take on the biggest and most dangerous steal job he’s ever dared. Which means I’ve been researching nasty booby traps.

Biggest encouragement: I did come up with some new ideas for redesigning the opening scene of Jeweler’s Son that will be far stronger. Now I just have to actually draft it.

A Favorite Line:  “Your husband is a fool.” Sla’strones glanced at the crowd around them. I would have murdered you years ago with my own hands.

About Ren Black

Part-time novelist. Weekend artist. Full-time Mother. Ex-poet. Perfectionist by training. Compulsive researcher sporadically. Prone to fits of linguistic commentary Unorthodox Renegade occasionally. Sarcastic by habit... Dreamer Always... Consider Yourself Warned

Leave a Reply

