3 Comments

“I Don’t Know”

When someone asks you a question there several different ways you can respond.  One way you can respond, is by answering the question with the appropriate answer.  For instance; if my daughter asks me how many inches are in a foot, I can say “12”, and that would be the correct answer.  The only way that I can do that, is if I know the correct answer.   If I wanted to, I could also give her the wrong answer to her question, even if I knew the right one.  The other end of that spectrum is how one responds to a question that they do not know the answer to.  For example;  If my daughter asks me to explain the properties of quantum mechanics.  In response to this question I can either make up something, and give her the wrong answer, yet making her believe that I know it, or I can simply reply “I don’t know sweetheart.” 

Here in seminary we are being trained for leadership within the Church.  There are many people here, with different callings.  Some will be led pastors and preachers, some with be youth pastors, other will be missionaries, and so on and so forth.  Part of that preparation involves us figuring out, or better understanding what we believe and why we believe it.  The value of this is being able to answer the questions to the people that confront us with these issues when we are in our positions of leadership.  Though this is a good, and I believe necessary ability to have when in a possition of leadership, there is also a down side to this.

One thing the we in seminary do is become “over educated”.  Let me explain.  Because we are taught to ask the “why” question, and seek scripture find the answer, we think that there is always an answer.  Often times when we realize that there is no answer, or that we are unable to find such answer we tend to rationalize, or “over think” the question.  In doing so we come up with answers based on what we think he Bible should say, and then find verses to back that up, no matter how far out of context we may be. 

The responsibility does not lie completely with the student, or church leader(from this point forward, refered to as “us”).  We are under a great deal of pressure from the comunity of both believers and non-believers to have all the answers.  It seems that, just because we have the “title” pastor, or teacher, we are supposed to have all the answers.  This being the case, we have to do the very best we can to find that answer.  However, in the event we can not find one, we tend to turn to our rationalization and give an answer.  After all, if your pastor says “I don’t know” in response to a question, you will question whether you are going to ask him anymore questions. 

As pastors, and church leaders we are afraid of the “I don’t know” statement.  We seem to be somewhat embarrassed that we don’t have an answer.  Come on now, we did to seminary after all; didn’t we?  My question is why?  Why do we get scared to say ” I don’t know”?  I am not afraid to say it when asked a tough math question, or science question.   I just don’t get why we are so afraid to not have the answer.  There are so many things in life that we don’t have the answers to, and accept that no one does.  Can you tell me why we don’t have a cure for cancer?  How do we cure HIV?  There are so many things that we theorize about concerning God’s creation, because we just don’t have the answers.  This not only includes Christians, but also non-Believers.   Scientists, historians, and other highly educated people in this world admit that they just don’t have all of the answers.  If that is true about the creation, why do we feel that we have to have all of the answers about the Creator?  If you can’t fully understand, not only creation, but yourself, then how can you understand Him who created you?

This morning I realized that I value the “I don’t know” statement.  Some times, just that we don’t know, goes to show how great our God really is.  personally, I am glad I don’t know, because if I did, then He wouldn’t be that great would He?  I don’t think that is should be the default answer, but I do believe that when you do your study, and look for your answers, and come up with…”I just don’t get it”; sometimes that is alright.  Just sit back and  realize that you serve a God that is so big, so powerful, so majestic that your finite mind just can’t comprehend.

About Mauricio Hance

I am a follower of Christ.

3 comments on ““I Don’t Know”

  1. Another great insight. Sometimes, I believe we teach a better lesson by not knowing. I have two columns in my head of questions I want answers to. One is title “Research” and the other is title “Find out in Heaven”.

    • I love those two titles. As I sit here in theology classes,and talking that stuff over with my peers, I think often about those very “subjects”. Would love to read them when they are written.

  2. Mauricio,
    I surely hope there are more pastors graduating from seminary who think the way you do.
    Coming out of a rather abusive church system, I can assure you that an “I don’t know” from a pastor or counselor would have inspired much more trust.
    Slapping a Bible verse over an individual’s need often does more harm than good. It may make the pastor feel like he’s doing his job, but it can also leave a hurting person trapped by the law.

Leave a comment