2 Comments

The Big Four-Oh My!

Yep. It’s my birthday. Today. Thank you very much.

Forty is one of those mile-marker birthdays. I guess because in the Olden Days, you were two-thirds done with your life.

Truth be told, I didn’t expect to live to 40. I was positive the world would end before I turned 30. Shows what I know, don’t it? Well, it has to end sometime. 

About a decade ago, when I figured out the world wasn’t quite done, I threw a few goals “out there” to give me something to do while awaiting the apocalypse. One of those goals was writing a book. I’d seen a documentary about this 90+ year old woman who lived on a farm, kept dairy goats and illustrated children’s books.

That could be me, I thought. I’ll need something to do. Everyone I know will be dead. If the world doesn’t end, I expect to live to 111. With my gift for making friends… well, I’ll be lucky if the goats like me.

Anyhoo, I finished that book and started another one and added the goal of publication to my list. Forty should be plenty of time to get a book out there and accepted by somebody, right?

Well, yeah, if I actually got a book out there and looked at by somebody, which I didn’t, because I had plenty of time. Forty is a long way off. Except it’s here, and I’m not published.

So, let 40 be my new 20. I’m once again young and fresh-faced and ready to tackle the world with my astounding literary skills. My new goal is to get published before Jesus comes back.

Hear that, Lord? It’s a race!

 

 

 

About Robynn Tolbert

Born in Kansas and born again at age six, Robynn has published two novels and started her third. Robynn, aka Ranunculus Turtle, lives in Kansas with a clowder of cats, a patient dog and a garden.

2 comments on “The Big Four-Oh My!

  1. Happy Birthday, Robynn! God must be giving you some extra time to accomplish your goals. 🙂 May the next 10 years be as exciting of a journey as the last 10.

  2. Happy birthday, Turtle. I have a feeling this will be your year. 😀

Leave a comment