9 Comments

Renegade Project #20: Telling All

“Sylena told me before of bodies found in the woods – where no one could figure out how they died.”

Natin runs a hand through his hair. “So she told you that too?”

“They died from suffocation.”

“What?”

“A certain mix of herbs, in powder form. It blocks air from the lungs.”

Natin’s eyes widen. “Surely you jest?”

You shrug. “The next intended victim is in my chambers – still recovering, but when she wakes, ask her. In fact, I recommend you get her out of the estate to someplace safe – ideally to someone with position – before your brother returns. I’m fairly certain that I was identified when I rescued her so he may look for her. As much as I would like to say I can protect everyone – including your sister – I am but one and am working with limited resources.”

“Yes,” Natin says, his face pale. “Yes of course.”

“Do you have a trustworthy contact in a position of authority? Perhaps a contact within the Royal Guard, or a high noble?”

He hesitates, glancing around. “Yes, an old friend, sort of a family friend I guess.”

“Gallino is selling enchanted weapons to the Lady Cinea.”

Natin scowls. “That sounds like something he would do.”

“I just wish that were all.” You take a deep breath. “The weapons that he’s selling are extremely deadly. They seem to be a variation of the old lightening staffs, which were made forbidden two hundred years ago. The herbal mix was also banned from these lands at the same time. It is illegal to make or sell either. Gallino must have found or arranged for a supplier in Myrmiar.”

Natin’s mouth and eyes open wide. “Father will kill him.”

The thought amuses you, but is highly unlikely. “This is far beyond mere betrayal of your father’s trust. This is treason and the proper authorities must be alerted or hundreds may die by those weapons.”

“Yes, of course.”

You pull out the cloth-wrapped knife to show him. “I took one of the weapons from the shipment, but anything with a black blade would be suspect. If someone does attack you with such a weapon, run. Whatever you do, don’t let the blade touch you or it could be instant death.”

Natin jerks back from the blade.

“This one will not kill. It has not be triggered yet, but I will keep it for now. Tell your ‘family friend’ what you have seen. If the authorities are sent here, I am willing to give a full report and turn over the weapon so that the arrest can be made. If we act quickly while your brother is still traveling, we may yet have the upper hand. Meanwhile, I will continue to look for your sister.”

The young man nods.

“Which brings us back to my questions of if we know any of the other mercenaries missing or if the horses have any identifying marks to help track them.”

Natin gives you the info, but it’s not much. So, what’s your next step?

Options:

Address the remaining mercenaries – inform them that Gallino is going down, with evidence already going to the authorities then offer protection to anyone who gives info on Gallino, Malor or helps recover the hostage alive.
-OR-
Go to the local pub and put out a huge reward to any info that will lead you to Malor
-OR-
Seek out Selyna’s maid, whom Malor mentioned while you two were repairing the door

-OR-

???

Voting is Closed!

For those who missed the rules for this game or an index check them out here!

And to see how this adventure began, see Renegade Project #1

About Ren Black

Part-time novelist. Weekend artist. Full-time Mother. Ex-poet. Perfectionist by training. Compulsive researcher sporadically. Prone to fits of linguistic commentary Unorthodox Renegade occasionally. Sarcastic by habit... Dreamer Always... Consider Yourself Warned

9 comments on “Renegade Project #20: Telling All

  1. Great post, Ren! I vote for all three, in this order:

    Interrogate the remaining guards; grill Sylena’s maid (and place her under guard so she doesn’t inconveniently disappear), then go to the nearest tavern and offer a reward.

    How much of a reward is our hero authorized to offer, again? Just bein’ nosy and wondering!

    Oh, and THEN I think he should bump into a well-connected friend, like I mentioned in a comment some installments back now… 😉 Just saying…

  2. Remind me who is in charge of the kingdom? I thought the throne was in turmoil, with the royal brats fighting over it. Is there a definitive source of law in the country to whom I can go for royal guards and help?

    Also, I’m not sure why I trust Natin so much. I think I’d be a little more cautious until I have a better idea who is up to what and who I can trust.

    Anyway, aside from that, I’m going to come up with a different plan of attack. I think I’ll form a very small posse (so we’re less likely to be spotted) and start tracking Malor and his men, and try to recover Sylena. I figure I have the best chance of finding her and bringing her back. If I make too much noise about it, then Malor (and Gallino) are likely to hear about it and either kill Sylena or thwart my rescue plans, so I’m thinking I need to be pretty sneaky and go after her alone or with a very small force.

    • sorry for delay of response.

      Yes, there are three “heirs” that each seem to want the throne. The younger two decided war would show who was the strongest. However, in order to not destroy the city, the eldest opted for them to keep the battleground in the countryside and he’s the one who banned magic from the fight (so as to limit casualties). The war drug on far longer than any expected and the eldest withdrew his claim. Word is that he’s broke. Although the throne is in dispute, the Royal Guard has tried hard to enforce existing laws and keep order. They apparently have abstained from getting involved in the war or showing any sort of allegiance. They have a main leader, but whether or not he takes counsel with one of the three heirs, or others, is unknown to our character.

  3. I’ll go with option 1, I suppose.

  4. I say go see what info you can get from the maid first. If that turns out you wont have to make it big and public like number 1, but if the maid doesn’t have info, then go public and number 1 is best.

  5. I think what I see favored is to go to the maid first and try to keep things quiet. That’s what Stanley and Krysti seem to favor with going to the other mercs secondary.

    So I think that’s what I’ll run with and hope to get it up Friday.
    Thanks for playing, you guys!

  6. […] of the house and to safety. Hopefully then she can report her tale to the proper authorities -OR- Tell Natin about the illegal weapons and/or the powder and have him report the crimes to authoritie… -OR- Keep the info quiet until you can report it yourself, and focus on your job. -OR- […]

Leave a comment