2 Comments

First Update for JaNoWriMo

 

machine-writing-1035292_960_720

“We live and breathe words. …. It was books that made me feel that perhaps I was not completely alone. They could be honest with me, and I with them. Reading your words, what you wrote, how you were lonely sometimes and afraid, but always brave; the way you saw the world, its colors and textures and sounds, I felt–I felt the way you thought, hoped, felt, dreamt. I felt I was dreaming and thinking and feeling with you. I dreamed what you dreamed, wanted what you wanted–and then I realized that truly I just wanted you.”

― Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Prince

Saturday and Sunday we had Christmas with my grandparents, so I didn’t log any words. I’m horrible. I know. I do have a couple of days off coming up later this week. I’m planning on logging some serious words then. Keep me accountable. Ok?

Note to self:

 “Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.”

― Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

I did clean and organize my writing space. I can’t work in chaos, but it seems to turn into chaos faster than I can finish my first cup of coffee. Maybe I do work alright in chaos after all… leaves wad of paper on desk beside dirty paper plate from breakfast.

15878564_10207331668681070_1161619011_o

Even though I didn’t log any words, I did get on Pinterest and work with some of my character boards. So much of my story has changed over the course of the past few months, I had to update some of my character profiles again. Have I ever mentioned how much I love working on character profiles? 😉 I did work through some more plotting issues as well. I’m really pleased with the direction I’m heading now.

I also did some reading over the weekend. I’m halfway through Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire now. This is my first time reading the Harry Potter books, and I’m loving them!

15902858_10207331666721021_1698432342_o

How is JaNoWriMo going for you so far?

When I get home tonight, I’m going to try for five hundred words or so. I’d like to write a little every day as I can.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

2 comments on “First Update for JaNoWriMo

  1. Started January with about 71,000 words and I am up to 74,500 today.

Leave a Reply

