14 Comments

New Job, New Shoes, No Worries

I have a new job. Today is my first day. Depending on how this week goes, you may get to hear about it next week. As a result, I’ve been shoe shopping. Sneakers won’t cut it where I’m going.

It’s cliché, but it all happened so fast. I put in one application and about four weeks later, I have a new job. I didn’t expect to have it, I wasn’t entirely certain I wanted it, but here I am.

The whole thing started with one step. A friend told me I had a chance at a new position. All I had to do was submit a resume.

I haven’t submitted a resume in 12 years. I had no idea how they even looked anymore. Oddly enough, though, I’d helped someone edit a resume only days before. I used that as my template and submitted under deadline.

It wasn’t easy. I chose the turtle as my icon to inspire me to move forward, not because I move forward naturally. But God and I had been talking about this employment thing for years. Whether I should make such a change. Whether something better or different was Out There and I was missing it. Whether my sense of comfort would ultimately stifle me.

Even for me, the coincidence was too obvious to be simple coincidence. I stepped. I kept stepping. Not pushing. Not seeking. Just taking the steps as they were presented to me. They were presented, by the way. My friend pulled me aside in church, for heavens’ sake. Did I really need the gold brick with the note tied to it to understand the message was “from God,” even if it seemed scary?

That’s how it’s gone, every step of the way. God presented an opportunity and, instead of running, I took a step into it.

So here I am, starting a new adventure. I’ve been through all the normal emotions for me – grief, anxiety (spelled T-E-R-R-O-R), paralyzing dismay. Alas, rarely does the turtle enjoy positive emotions over major life decisions.

At the moment, I am calm. God wouldn’t have brought me here to dump me, no matter what my fear might try to whisper.

“For I know the plans I have for you, says the LORD. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

I just quoted that from memory. I have no idea what version it is. I only know I believe it. If I claim to serve God, I’d better trust Him with my life. I’d better trust His ability to direct my path. I’d better trust His wisdom in putting me where I need to be to serve Him. He is God, after all. If He can’t handle one turtle, He isn’t worthy of the title.

Today, I’ll be stepping out in new shoes and, God willing, an attitude of joy and hope in the future. Today is the first day of the rest of my God-given life. His will be done.

Oh, and I’m keeping the sneakers under my desk. I’ll be needing them on the two block run to my car to let the dog out over my lunch hour. Just one of the little details I’m trusting the Big Guy to sort out for me. Why wouldn’t He? He’s done everything else.

About Robynn Tolbert

Born in Kansas and born again at age six, Robynn has published two novels and started her third. Robynn, aka Ranunculus Turtle, lives in Kansas with a clowder of cats, a patient dog and a garden.

14 comments on “New Job, New Shoes, No Worries

  1. Have fun today, Princess Turtle. You will do just fine. 😀

  2. I started to read and the further I got into it…the deeper I sank into wowness. There are no coincidences. I also copied a section of it to show you what I “liked” best but then I seriously wanted to copy it all.

    I’ll say this, is one of the parts. “Did I really need the gold brick with the note tied to it to understand the message was “from God?”

    Same here. “Dude, I’ve already told you,” He says to me.

    Aside from how not coincidental this post is for me, I would like to bless you and wish you a great day and uplift you in Christ.

    Onward, Sister…thank you for writing.

  3. Congratulations and best wishes for the new job, Robynn! (and lots of encouragement! With God helping you, you can do it!) I also know what it feels like to be terrified of new opportunities. And, the verse you quoted is one of my favorites! 😀

  4. Congratulations, and deep breaths. You’ll do fine!

  5. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll do well.

  6. I totally understand the pulse-freezing terror–I’m not big on changes. Sometimes I WISH a gold-brick would fall from the sky…it’d be a lot easier. lol… Congratulations on the new job, and you are a wonderful person, so I’m sure you’ll do just fine. Just remember: inhale, exhale, rinse, lather, repeat.

  7. my Dearest Turtle,

    Doing it right, YAY!

  8. Thank you all! With my typical turtle optimism, I’m sure I’ll have a bad day sometime, but, praise the Lord, today was not it. 🙂

  9. My sweet turtle I wish you would actually wear shoes like you posted. They are wonderful. Still laughing in your voice. That is good. Love you

  10. Best of wishes. “This is the day the Lord has made…”

  11. A great post full of all kinds of wisdom, Robynn. How weird is it that two NAFers started a new job after more than a decade out of resume-land on the same day. I hope your first day went as smoothly as mine did. May the Lord continue to bless your willingness to join him on this new endeavor!

Leave a comment