2 Comments

Open Doors

Hey, guys!

So, recently God has opened the door for me to go full-time at the place where I work.

The upside to this promotion is that it will enable me to start up an apartment search, and help to make me more financially stable.

The downside is that working full-time will make finding the time to write a little more tricky,  tricky but obviously not impossible. Fighting! 🙂

Coffee-Blog

I’ve been praying for direction for a while. I’m a big time planner, always have been, and not knowing my next step, well that’s been a little difficult. During this time the Lord has laid on my heart a few different verses. They’ve been really encouraging to me, and I think they might be for you too.

“The plans of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord.” – Proverbs 16:1

My plans might not be God’s plans. The question I need to continually ask myself is if I’m willing to follow Him, no matter what.

“Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established.” – Proverbs 16:3

I might be afraid of working full-time and pursuing my writing too, but I know that God has called me to write. I also know He’s going to help me.

“I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living! Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!” – Psalm 27:13-14

Am I willing to wait for His leading, even when the waiting gets hard? Am I willing to trust in the Lord’s goodness towards me as I wait?

One of the bonuses of working full-time is that I’m being moved to another office. This office just happens to be located right across the street from a nice, little coffee shop. I’m planning on writing there during my lunch breaks. I’ll share pictures soon! 🙂

I know I’m going to have to make some changes in how I manage my time, which will be a good thing for me. But I’m confident that the Lord’s hand has been in this job decision, so I’m moving forward.

This fall I’ll start up the apartment search. Until then, I think I’m going to enter the Five Poisoned Apples creative writing contest, the one I blogged about last week. I think it might be nice to complete a smaller project before returning to my book. I could use the confidence boost of actually completing a project! 😉

So, what are you working on right now?
How can I pray for you?

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

2 comments on “Open Doors

  1. Congrats! (And haha – I know where the “Fighting!” comes from!)
    You’re at a difficult stage in life, looking for direction. It’s nice to know God has a plan, even when we don’t see it. 🙂
    I have issues with the contest terms but it seems to be popular. Good luck!
    I’m gearing up for daughter’s school to start in just over a month, trying to find time to write, and juggling things like dentist appts with finances. Fun fun. But I just tackle one step at a time and try not to get to focused on the rest!

    • Haha! It’s always great to find a kdrama, kindred spirit. 😊

      I’ll be praying for you as you head into the rush!
      Hope your writing is going well. Sending you cups of coffee. ☕☕☕

Leave a Reply

