Leave a comment

A Good Run


Sunday I went for a 5-mile run that ended up being 5.5 miles. It wasn’t my fastest run but it was one of my best. I even had a running partner to the end of our street (pictured above). Her total run was a half mile, not bad for a 9-year old. The day was perfect, warm, sunny, and not windy. Kind of the first official day of summer. I run to a playlist of 1990s alternative Christian music set to random.

A few weeks ago a pair of posts about random versus God-controlled. Once again God proved He can override (or at least work with) the random algorithm in iTunes. The songs that I needed to hear came up at just the right time. Running for me is a form of worship. It’s one of the few times I listen to praise music since I’m usually tuned into an audio book. It’s otherwise quiet. I’m physically vulnerable, pushing my body to the upper limits of my heart rate, breathing capacity, and building my muscles and endurance.

Today’s sermon impacted me in so many ways. It was about unity among Christians as modeled in the Trinity and based on John 17:20-26. My first thought centered around the diversity of beliefs at Realm Makers, and how my circle of friends within the writing community is incredibly diverse and yet we all love God and believe in salvation through Christ. Then our pastor got personal. He started talking about forgiveness and living in community with other sinners saved by grace.

A little reminder in the back of my head said, “remember when you told God to reveal areas of sin in your life?” On my run, God pulled out the toothbrush and attacked the grime in my grout. Petty and selfish thoughts have been coursing through my synapses and threatening to spill out where they could do some damage. I was able to talk to God about them in that way we can communicate wordlessly to the Almighty. I got them off my chest without the fear of hurting someone either intentionally or unintentionally.

Then there’s the next step. True repentance. Not only asking forgiveness, but truly changing my attitude so that I can better reflect Christ. I’m not a great theologian or a Bible scholar but know enough that I have not had the “mind of Christ” (I Corinthians 2:16) in certain areas.

Has a sermon, Bible study, etc. really impacted you lately?

About Gretchen E K Engel

Chemical engineer by day, spec fiction writer by night

Leave a Reply

