2 Comments

Word Wars!

“Would you like to word war with me tonight?” Rosalie’s message popped up on my phone.

“Word wars?” I texted back.

f28b17a5-e546-4ee5-851a-3f3d2435bef9

Ok, I’d heard of Word Wars before, but had no idea exactly how they worked. I did know that they involved some pretty fast writing. I tend to think of myself as a slow writer. My inner editor kicks in way more than she should, and I just knew I wouldn’t be able to keep up. To be honest, I also thought I would be too embarrassed to share my word counts, even with my cousin.

Still, I said yes.

That night I hunkered down on the couch with my laptop and waited.

My cousin had explained that Word Wars or Word Sprints are timed challenges. You can set any time limit you want, ten minutes, fifteen, twenty… You then write as fast as you can, without editing, until the timer stops. When you’re finished, you share your word count and your last sentence. Sounds easy enough, right? Right!

“Go!” The text flashed across my screen.

I tried not to glance at the timer ticking down on my phone. Just write, just write, I told myself. I dove in. At first the writing seemed clunky and pretty awful, but after the first few minutes my fingers were flying across the keyboard.

The timer stopped.

I looked at my word count, and was pretty surprised. My count, still less than my cousin’s, wasn’t too bad. It was actually way better than I’d thought it would be.

We went for a second round, then a third.

Each time it was easier. The words flowed faster. My inner editor was being surprisingly silent. This was fun!

I think Word Wars have helped me to get over that initial, blank page fear. They’ve helped me to just go for it, to get the words down. I can edit them later.

Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.”

― Louis L’Amour

Have you ever participated in a Word War before? Did you like it?

Hope your week is going well!

 

 

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

2 comments on “Word Wars!

  1. I love word wars! I’ve heard them called writing sprints, too. I get a ton of writing done when I’m sprinting regularly. 😀

    • I’m anticipating lots of words this way too! I feel like a whole new way of writing has been opened to me, haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

