6 Comments

Writing Lessons Learned

Guest Blogger: Amy Brock McNew

Three days ago, my second novel released to an expectant audience who have been hounding me to get it into their hands. It is, in a word, surreal. I’ve put two books out in the world, and people actually like them!

When I think about it, it’s overwhelming. I’m just an average chick who’s spent her life mainly in the music and hospitality industries with a stint as a nurse in the mix. I bounced around the country for a few years and got into a whole mess of stuff I never should’ve. Then I wound up in Indiana, blessed with a husband, a passel of kids, and now a grandbaby, coming up with stories for a living.

None of that was what I’d imagined for myself. Even so, it’s my reality, and I love it.

3amysigningbooks

How did I get here, writing books that people are actually waiting on and looking forward to?

It wasn’t easy, and I didn’t do it alone. Not by a long shot. I’ve had so much help along the way. I’ve also been given a ton of amazing advice, in one-on-one conversations and in classes.

Today, I’d like to share some of that advice with you. Some of these quotes are from classes, some are from conversations. But they all have given freely of their experience to help me, and I appreciate it more than they know. Their words are about writing, about life, and about reaching your full potential. I hope you find as much inspiration in them as I have.

Allen Arnold:

“Playing it safe produces common creativity and a common life.”

“God doesn’t always give a yes or no. It’s an invitation. An invitation to create with Him. Do you want to ride? Are you brave enough to take the leap? Step into the mystery. Create with Him.”

Tosca Lee:

“Engage the reader emotionally or you fail.”

“Write like no one will ever read it.”

“Write what’s in your heart—don’t hold back.”

Ted Dekker:

“Every storm is an opportunity to see things differently, to grow and change.”

“Here’s an unfair advantage: learning to write to discover yourself. The purpose for writing is to learn yourself, creating stories to work through issues in your life. You learn with your characters along the ride.”

“If it’s not transformational, don’t bother writing it.”

Thank you for allowing me to share with you today. I hope these quotes help you as they’ve helped me. Love and hugs, y’all.

 

Amy Brock McNewAmy Brock McNew doesn’t just write speculative fiction, she lives and breathes it. Exploring the strange, the supernatural, and the wonderfully weird, Amy pours her guts onto the pages she writes, honestly and brutally revealing herself in the process. Nothing is off-limits. Her favorite question is “what if?” and she believes fiction can be truer than our sheltered and controlled realities. Visit AmyBrockMcNew.com to learn more about this intriguing author.

6 comments on “Writing Lessons Learned

  1. Thank you for having me today!

  2. Reblogged this on Amy Brock McNew ~Author~ and commented:
    The next stop on the blog tour is New Authors Fellowship. Today, I’m passing on some great advice that was given to me.

  3. Wonderful post! Thank you so much!

  4. […] Jan. 27th: Kristen Stieffel at New Authors’ Fellowship (www.newauthors.wordpress.com) “Take My Advice” Guest […]

  5. […] Jan. 27th: Kristen Stieffel at New Authors’ Fellowship (www.newauthors.wordpress.com) “Take My Advice” Guest […]

Leave a Reply

