2 Comments

My JaNoWriMo Update or Why Realm Makers Suddenly Seems Not Far Away

Photo by Gretchen EK Engel

After setting aside the manuscript I worked on for five years, which included writing two sequels, I started a project for NaNoWriMo. I’m doing JaNoWriMo this month to finish the draft. If you don’t know what that is, read Brittany Valentine’s awesome post. My plan is to have two manuscripts to pitch at Realm Makers. As you can see from my picture of the chalkboard with my writing goals on it, it’s pretty ambitious.

I’m trying some new things

  1. I read several craft books including Write Your Novel in a Month by Jeff Gerke (before NaNoWriMo 2015), Structuring Your Novel (and the workbook) by K.M. Weiland, and Write Your Novel from the Middle by James Scott Bell.
  2. I bought Scrivener iOS (I already owned Scrivener for Windows)
  3. I applied Randy Ingermanson’s Snowflake Method
  4. I became a plotter
  5. I signed up for and won (with 50,033 words submitted at 11:55 p.m. on November 30
  6. I didn’t take a break for December but did slow down
  7. I participated in JaNoWriMo. If you don’t know what that is, read Brittany Valentine’s awesome post.

I’m learning some new things

  1. I need to plot
  2. I actually prefer plotting
  3. I need to plot more thoroughly before writing
  4. Numeric word count goals make me write fluff that will be scrapped
  5. I need to research more before I write
  6. Don’t rabbit trail onto YouTube when you have strict writing goals

With my lessons learned I’m planning on the following schedule

February
I’ll probably cut down my 50K word goal and spend more time plotting. It’s based on one of my short stories, so plotting should be fairly easy.

March
Polish the beginning of Manuscript 1 and writing the synopsis for Genesis.

April
Finish rough draft of Manuscript 2

May
Polish Manuscript 1

June
Polish Manuscript 2

July
Count down the days until Realm Makers

Are you participating in JaNoWriMo? If so, how is it going? What are your writing goals and timeline?

About Gretchen E K Engel

Chemical engineer by day, spec fiction writer by night

2 comments on “My JaNoWriMo Update or Why Realm Makers Suddenly Seems Not Far Away

  1. Ah, a worthy goal! Dean Wesley Smith blogged recently that we modern authors have so few barriers to publishing. We have self publishing. We have computers. We have dictation software. We should be able to write at pulp-writer speed (Asimov published the equivalent of 500 books!). Yet we don’t. Why don’t we? He figures that the barriers are in our own minds. I found this fascinating, especially in light of all us hungry writers who want to produce way more books than we are now.
    Here’s the article: http://www.deanwesleysmith.com/a-question/

Leave a Reply

