4 Comments

JaNoWriMo Second Update

This wasn’t working.

writers-block

I scribbled out what I’d just written and stared at the huge amount of white space still left on the page. I’d obviously lost any small bit of writing talent I’d ever had. How could I write my book like this, if I couldn’t even write a decent first page?

I’d been plotting and planning and character recreating, but I hadn’t actually been writing. What if I’d lost the ability? What if I just couldn’t do it? I pushed back from the desk with a sigh. This wasn’t how I expected JaNoWriMo to start out for me. I guess I’d thought that somehow inspiration rockets would attach themselves to my fingertips, and the words would just shoot out onto the page by the thousands. That’s how it works for everyone else, right?

I didn’t write anything else that day.

Monday I grabbed my notebook and started again. The words weren’t exactly shooting out onto the page. It was definitely more of a slow, thoughtful trickle, but I was writing. And to my surprise, I was enjoying it. I was in my story world again. The characters were real again.

1e79dc738cd17cf2dc344e26e75c2b19

So, I’m writing again. I’m not writing super fast, and I’m certainly not an inspired genius. I’m just a writer who’s decided not to give up. Here’s to many more words in January! 🙂

How are you doing this week? Have you been shooting word rockets from your fingertips? Have you had trouble getting anything intelligible to come out onto the page? Don’t give up.

Oh, today I saw someone sharing their word for the year, and I was thinking I’d like to do something like that too. I’ll try to remember to share my word in next week’s update.

Press on!

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

4 comments on “JaNoWriMo Second Update

  1. GIts always hard to try to get back into writing after a long hiatus. I have to remind myself that this is a first draft. It’s allowed to be crappy and rambly and dumb. I’m going to fix it all during edits. The point now is just to get the first draft down so there’s something to fix. I’ve been doing maybe 200 words a day, but moving forward is moving forward. Onward to victory!

    • That’s so encouraging. I constantly find myself self-editing as I go along. I wish I could just flick a switch and turn it off! Haha. And moving forward is moving forward! 🙂

  2. I’m finally back to writing again too, and I’ve actually managed to surprise myself: there are currently 3,892 words written on this new WIP!

    It’s pretty rough going as yet.

    Characters need more fleshing out, the scenery needs more description, feelings and reactions, and reasons need greater exploration, but the pace of the action has picked up to a nice, frantic clip–and in the next chapter or so, big revelations should explode like dropping bombs, sending the story off on a crazy roll that I’m quite looking forward to!

    It’s so much better doing this now than trying to do it in November…

    • Awesome!!!
      And layering is something you can do in the editing process too. I’m weird. I like the editing part.
      I like doing this in January too. 🙂
      Are you a part of the FB event?

Leave a Reply

