1 Comment

Merry Christmas and Thanks for the Heroes

ppbs3-17133442reg

Every year I get one one bonus gift that’s a big surprise or something very special. This year there were several, but one special gift was actually a Black Friday score I sort of bought for myself (my husband wrapped it up as one of my main presents), the boxed set of Anne of Green Gables. The Anne of Green Gables series are my favorite books, and I loved the 1980s Canadian Broadcasting Corporation movies even if movie number 3 was a complete departure from the books. The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation version starred Megan Follows and the late Jonathan Crombie, and seems to be everyone’s favorite, especially for my generation.

Gilbert Blythe is my favorite literary hero, and there’s a bit of him in all of the heroes I write. Anne happens to be one of my favorite heroines too. Gilbert matches her intellect and challenges her to do her best. He works hard and provides for his family both when he’s young and after he has a family of his own. Gilbert is practical and grounds the whimsical Anne. In part, Gilbert influenced who I married. I wanted an intelligent man who was a provider. I also needed someone to keep me grounded. My husband is very much my real-life hero and not unlike Gilbert Blythe.

Now if I meet my JanNoWriMo goals, I’m going to find a couple of cold February nights, curl up, and watch my favorite literary couple.

Who is your favorite hero? Why?

About Gretchen E K Engel

Chemical engineer by day, spec fiction writer by night

One comment on “Merry Christmas and Thanks for the Heroes

  1. Samwise Gamgee, Edmund Pevensie and Eustace Scrubb. Sam reminds me to always have a servant heart and Edmund & Eustace remind me to never stop striving to be a better person and a better Christian.

Leave a Reply

