2 Comments

Shiver Book Review

This is not the book you were looking for.

I was supposed to be reviewing another book this week, but then I started reading this one and… I’ve probably broken about a hundred reader/writer rules about finishing one series before starting another, haven’t I? Sighs.

This week I’m reviewing Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater.

shiver-final-cover

“It tore my heart out, because I heard his voice. The wolves sang slowly behind him, bittersweet harmony, but all I heard was Sam. His howl trembled, rose, fell in anguish.

I listened for a long time. I prayed for them to stop, to leave me alone, but at the same time I was desperately afraid they would. Long after the other voices had dropped away, Sam kept howling, very soft and slow.

When he finally fell silent, the night felt dead.”
― Maggie Stiefvater, Shiver 

1.) About this book:

Grace Brisbane’s life changes when, as a child, she’s attacked and dragged into the woods by a pack of wolves. Since that time she’s formed a special attachment to the wolf who stepped in and saved her, the one with the haunting, yellow eyes.

Fast forward several years, Grace is now in high school. Other than her slight obsession with wolves and uncanny ability to read people’s emotions, Grace is leading a pretty normal life. This changes when a teenage boy named Sam Roth shows up on her porch, bleeding from a gunshot wound. The only thing weirder than the gunshot wound is the fact that Sam Roth has the exact same yellow eyes as her wolf.

2.) What I loved:

The descriptions were rich, without being too wordy. The author really made you feel like you were walking along that wooded path with the cold wind blowing in your face. Whatever you do, don’t shiver!

The story was pretty fast paced. I finished the book in one day.

I also thought the author did a pretty good job of staying away from some of the normal, werewolf clichés. There were no silver bullets to be found in this book.

3.) What I didn’t love:

Too much kissing!

I think Jane Austen and Kdramas have ruined me. 😉 I definitely prefer a slowly paced romance. Take out about ninety percent of the kissing scenes in this book, and it would have been way better, in my opinion anyway.

There was also an implied scene that could have been done away with altogether.

4.) Let me sum up:

I really liked this book, for the most part. I bought the second one on my Kindle, so we’ll see how the next part goes. 🙂

“Books are more real when you read them outside.”
― Maggie Stiefvater, Shiver 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

2 comments on “Shiver Book Review

  1. I loved Shiver! I thought the ending tied it up perfectly. I read the summaries of the next two books, and they seem to undo everything that was done in book 1. I also wanted to know more about the lab where the wolves were created, and it doesn’t look like that is ever mentioned again. If the next books wind up being really good anyway, let me know!

    • I loved the ending too! I should have mentioned that in my review. I will definitely let you know what I think of the others. 🙂

Leave a Reply

