4 Comments

It’s That Time of Year

No, no, no not the election tomorrow. That topic is a dead horse that’s already been beaten. I mean NaNoWriMo. If you’re not familiar with it, check it out here. In a nutshell, you sign up to write 50,000 words in November. It’s only a week in, so it’s still doable. If you’ve always wanted to write a book, it’s a great time to get started. If you’ve been writing, commit to editing so many pages and participate anyway.

If you’re so inclined, another fun thing to do is find friends to encourage you. On any given night, I have requests to do word sprints. Usually 20-minute increments but sometimes 10, 15, or even 30. Iron sharpens iron or in this case lead (#2 graphite) sharpens lead.

I wrote a couple of weeks ago about my steampunk fairytale. I used several craft books and a good 4-6 weeks preparing. I’m still improvising as I go writing quite a few filler words that help with world and culture building as I go. I even had a really fun character show up completely unannounced and take over a scene and promise to play a role in Act 1. He might even be a significant part of the entire story. He’s also practically begging to be the hero of his own story. We’ll have to see what happens. First things first. Rosalind and Prince Stratton are the ones who need my attention right now.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? Have you done it in previous years? How did it go?

About Gretchen E K Engel

Chemical engineer by day, spec fiction writer by night

4 comments on “It’s That Time of Year

  1. Your story sounds fun! I’m skipping Nano this year (I did the summer camps), because I’m currently in an editing cycle. But the comradeship is so fun. I enjoy all the chatter.

  2. I just finished one, so I am avoiding this like the plague 🙂 but I’ll be praying for you. It’s also astonishing how a character can do what you describe. Sometimes even a little scary….

Leave a Reply

