Leave a comment

The Heart of Betrayal Book Review

Today I’m reviewing The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles Book Two) by Mary Pearson.

You can read my review of the first book here: https://newauthors.wordpress.com/2016/10/19/the-kiss-of-deception-book-review/

1525959_orig

“When you think you’re at the end of your rope, give it three more days. And then another three. Sometimes you’ll find the rope is longer than you thought.”
― Mary Pearson, The Heart of Betrayal

1.) About this book:

The Heart of Betrayal is the second book of the Remnant Chronicles by Mary Pearson. Book one ended with Lia being captured by the assassin, Kaden, and taken to Venda, the barbarian kingdom.

After witnessing the death of her brother, Lia decides she’s going to kill the man responsible for his death. This man, called the Komizar, is Kaden’s boss and the ruler of Venda. Lia’s plans become even more complicated when Rafe, her prince in disguise, delivers himself into the Komizar’s hands to try and save her.

For now Lia has to play the part of a proper prisoner, and somehow she has to keep both Rafe and Kaden safe. To Lia’s surprise the barbarian kingdom isn’t exactly how she imagined it would be. Most of the people aren’t barbarians after all, and some even accept her as the leader from their ancient prophecy. On top of everything, Lia’s powers of sight are growing. She’s even seeing the ghost of one Venda’s past leaders. Lia’s growing following scares and infuriates the Komizar. In a sudden twist, he declares their impending marriage in order to strengthen his hold on the kingdom. Somehow Lia has to find a way to free them all from the Komizar’s clutches.

2.) What I loved:

It was a super fast read. I actually read it in one day. It was paced well.

I liked seeing how pieces foreshadowed in the first book started coming together in this one. Several of the rougher characters from the first book actually became loyal allies in book two. I think this deeper glimpse into their personalities made me more attached to them.

I liked that the Vendans weren’t exactly the barbarians Lia thought them to be. Lia’s views on the three kingdoms have broadened a little, and she’s growing a little wiser.

3.) What I didn’t love:

Love triangles, I’m still not a fan. Lia’s preference is still pretty obvious, but she ends up leading Kaden on in order to escape. I hated this because Kaden really did care for her, and in his own way he’s trying to keep her safe. I didn’t expect a perfect protagonist by any means, but I did expect for her to be more honest and caring with her friends.

I think Lia’s character grew colder in this book. I wish I could have seen a little softening towards the end.

There was a little more cussing in book two, but it was still pretty mild.

There was more kissing in this one as well and a bit of innuendo. Things were still very mild.

4.) Let me sum up:

To be honest, I think I liked book one better. With that said, I did finish the book in one day, so it was still really good.

I’m hoping that some of the things I had issues with in this book will be resolved in book three.

Sorry if this review seems a little rushed. My family had a pretty rough week. My little sister had to have a minor surgery on her leg suddenly, so we’ve been running back and forth from the hospital. She’s doing really great now, and should be home tomorrow!

So, what’s next?

The Beauty of Darkness (The Remnant Chronicles Book Three)

16682761-_sy540_

What are you reading this week?

Have any of you started NaNoWriMo?

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

Leave a Reply

