5 Comments

Politics and Stuff

writing-and-artAnyone who follows me on Facebook knows I have some pretty passionate opinions about the current state of our nation’s politics.

I have posted several rants. And I have written several more that I have refrained from posting. I have genuinely good-willed people trying to sway me one way or the other for good reasons, but I don’t want to be guilt-tripped into believing something I don’t believe. And the longer it goes, the worse it gets. The whole thing makes my heart hurt.

And so I’ve been retreating more and more from Facebook, and limiting the stories I read, because everything has gotten so ugly, and the more I read, the more I want to rant and spout off and convince people that they’re wrong, in much the same way that they’re trying to convince me I’m wrong.

Instead, I’ve been doing a lot of walking and playing Pokemon Go, investing in my writing and editing, and experimenting with some art projects. My daily step count is significantly higher the last week or two than normal. I’ve nearly finished this current novel. I have some exciting art projects in the works that I hope to share sometime in the coming weeks.

I don’t know what the future will bring. I don’t know who the next president will be. I don’t know how that person will or won’t change things that affect my day-to-day life.

I know God is in control, and though my heart hurts, my conscience is clean. And so I will go into November with a focus on NaNoWriMo rather than the election. I will spend my energy making beautiful and interesting things and helping others to do the same. I will look forward to the end of this farce of an election season and beyond it to Thanksgiving and Christmas and the new year, in which the world will be whatever it is and God will still be in control and I will be that much further along in my writing and other endeavors.

 

 

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

5 comments on “Politics and Stuff

  1. Yeah,Avily. I heard on the radio station K-LOVE, an idea promoted by Pastor Max Lucado. Instead of fretting over this farcical election, pray over it. Lucado reminded me that no matter which candidate wins the office, God can still persuade that person to act in certain ways. God is still on his throne and still running this planet.

  2. Yes, definitely feeling this. My husband recently decided to take a new approach on Facebook. He posted Philippians 4:8 which says, “Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about these things that are excellent and worthy of praise.” Then he asked people to share what they were seeing throughout the day that fit that description. He repeated the post several times this week and got a huge number of truly wonderful responses from friends who’d been shouting from both sides of the election. We all could use a break. And we all need to cut one another some slack. Personally, I’ve had a better week, with less heartburn and dispair. My husband has too, and I suspect so have the friends who have participated.

  3. I know the feeling, Avily. My heart hurts. Some days, all I can do is pray, “Lord, have mercy, Christ have mercy. Father, forgive them, they know not what they do.”

  4. Avily, 2 words: hear, hear!

Leave a Reply

