8 Comments

The Kiss of Deception Book Review

 

Today I’m reviewing The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles Book One) by Mary Pearson.

81uhyo-a0hl

“It can take years to mold a dream. It takes only a fraction of a second for it to be shattered.” ― Mary E. Pearson, The Kiss of Deception 

1.) About this book:

Arabella Celestine Idris Jezelia, Lia for short, is the First Daughter of the House of Morrighan. Lia, who’d rather be out roaming freely with her brothers, isn’t too happy about her position as the princess, and she’s even less happy about her arranged marriage to the Prince of Dalbreck.

For the better part of her life she’s felt like a prisoner in her own home, and her relationship with her royal parents is more than a little strained. As a First Daughter she’s supposed to have certain gifts, certain powers, but to her knowledge she has nothing of the kind. On the day of her wedding Lia finally decides that she’s had quite enough of her life being planned out for her. Rather than marry someone she’s never even met, she and her best friend/personal maid, Pauline flee on horseback to the tiny fishing village of Terravin.

Lia hopes that in Terravin she’ll be able to build a new life, one that will allow her to be free from the high expectations of royalty, one that will allow her to choose the one she loves. Her plans begin to unravel upon the arrival of two young men at the inn where she and Pauline work. Lia finds herself especially drawn toward one of them, but what she doesn’t realize is that one of the young men is the very prince she fled from and the other is an assassin sent to kill her.

The Kiss of Deception is the first book in the Remnant Chronicles by Mary Pearson.

2.) What I loved:

Is everything an ok answer? Hmm, I guess not. 😉

The characters were amazing.

Lia was a good mix of strength and femininity. She was someone with fears and uncertainties, but her character grew with the obstacles and sorrows she faced. Little by little you could see some of her selfish tendencies slipping away, replaced by a better understanding and care for the people and world around her. I really liked seeing her special ability to know things grow throughout the story. I’m really curious to see how much this power will grow in book two.

Rafe and Kaden, the two young men, were unique characters. I had no difficulty in telling them apart, even though the narrative was written in first person. Like Lia, I found one to be a little more interesting at first, but things really changed toward the end of the book. I may still be a little biased. No spoilers, I promise!

The story had a wide and colorful cast, with several character’s pasts becoming more intricate and intriguing as the story unfolded.

Several of the chapters opened with pieces from The Songs of Venda, a history of their world. These glimpses into the world’s history were interesting and it was neat to see some of the pieces come together towards the end of the book.

3.) What I didn’t love:

Love triangles, I’m not really a huge fan of this sort of thing. Don’t even get me started on The Hobbit movies. I will say that Lia’s preference seems to be pretty obvious, so it could be worse.

There was a bit of kissing in the book, but nothing too heavy.

I think I remember one curse word in the entire book.

I did feel a little tricked by the time I reached page 300. I won’t give away any spoilers, but let’s just say I was very surprised and had to re-read some parts to make sure I hadn’t missed anything. It’s not a very bad surprise and actually made things extremely interesting. I just wasn’t expecting it. 😉

4.) Let me sum up:

I really loved this book. I finished it in three days and highly recommend it. I’ve also decided to post a review for book two when I’m finished.

The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles Book Two) by Mary Pearson

1525959_orig

What are you reading this week?

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

8 comments on “The Kiss of Deception Book Review

    • I really liked this one. I will say that I was a bit conflicted about book two. I did read it in one day, so I couldn’t put it down. I’m just not sure how I felt about the character development. I’m definitely going to read book three though! 🙂

  1. I disliked a lot about this book – and mainly the main character and her obsession with needing a romance. The romance felt completely rushed and immature to me. 😦

Leave a Reply

