10 Comments

Making Time To Read

When I was a kid it was no surprise for my family members to find me tucked away with a book for hours at a time. I loved to read, still do. I’m assuming this has something to do with the whole writer thing.

Fast forward several years, where does the time go? Seriously, I feel like the last four years have swished by like that Mr. Freeze roller coaster at Six Flags. (You should look it up. It’s pretty fast.) These days I find myself with considerably less time to read. Work, family, writing, studying, all these things are competing for my time and attention and it can be really hard to find the time to read anymore. It sounds sort of crazy that a writer wouldn’t have time to read, doesn’t it? Yeah, I think so too.

“Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them.”
― Lemony Snicket, Horseradish 

 

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”
― C.S. Lewis

 

“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”
― Stephen King

 

“There is no Frigate like a Book
To take us Lands away
Nor any Coursers like a Page
Of prancing Poetry –
This Traverse may the poorest take
Without oppress of Toll –
How frugal is the Chariot
That bears a Human soul.”
― Emily Dickinson

So, to spur myself on to reading more and to hopefully help you guys discover some new books in the process, I’ve decided to write up a book review every few weeks or so. Should be fun, right? Right!

The first book I’ve decided to read and review is:

air-awakens-bigger

 

Book description on Amazon:

A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all–the Crown Prince Aldrik–she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

 

What are you reading?

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

10 comments on “Making Time To Read

  1. If you mention that there’s a romance in that book up there, then I will immediately dash out and grab it, too. I love that particular plot setup/trope. (Uprooted had the same one, but flubbed it SO BADLY at the end.)

    I just finished reading the second Monster Hunter International by Larry Corria. I just enjoy urban fantasy so much. I mean, I actually laughed when they blew up the soul-eating troll with the gas-tank-semi. I think next I’m going to read book 2 of the Heartstrikers series. I want to catch up with the only Nice Dragon, Julius, and see if his vow to be nice can withstand the might of his nasty criminal dragon family.

    • Haha! I’ll let you know if it does. I prefer some romance in my books too, as long as it’s believable. If there’s too much teenage drama, I’m out. 🙂
      I’ve not tried the other ones you mentioned. I’ll have to add them to my list. 🙂

  2. I try to get off my computer by 8:45 each night so I have about an hour to read before I go to bed. It’s a habit I started maybe a year or two ago, and now I can’t imagine spending a night at home without reading time. Sometimes you have to… not necessarily force yourself to read, but to find a way to create that time for yourself, even if it means sacrificing something else. (Example: I don’t want TV at night anymore, just so I can have time to read and write.)

    I’d be very interested in reading your review of Air Awakens. That book has been on my radar; I just haven’t gotten around to buying it yet. As for what I’m reading, I finished Traci Chee’s THE READER two nights ago and adored it and am planning to start Neil Gaiman’s STARDUST tonight.

    • That’s a really good idea, making sure to set aside the time.
      The Reader, I think that was one I had looked at the other day. I’ll add that one to the pile. 🙂 I watched the Stardust movie, but haven’t read the book.

      • The Reader really is wonderful. It’s like Inkheart with a book / writing / reading oriented magic system, but it also reminded me of the overall power of literature in our lives. So, books, magic, an adorable friendship / slow-burn romance, and PIRATES. And none of the too-common YA fantasy tropes, either. 🙂

  3. Air Awakens is on my list. It’ll be interesting to see what you think. I’m currently reading The Poisoner’s Handbook and planning to grab The Way They Learn next.

    • I’ll look those two up as well. I’m liking Air Awakens pretty well so far. The author does a great job of keeping you turning the page. 🙂

Leave a Reply

