6 Comments

Ten Random Things

Ok, so today I’m listing ten random things about myself, which you may or may not have figured out already from my earlier posts.

boss-fight-free-high-quality-stock-images-photos-photography-cup-coffee-pen-notebook

At the end of this post I’d like you to comment with at least one random, crazy thing about yourself. It’s sort of like one of those tag ten friends, Facebook things. Don’t worry, you won’t become cursed or unblessed if you don’t play. 😉 Yes, I know unblessed isn’t really a word.

So, here we go:

1.) I’m terrified of spiders, but will kill them if provided with a large enough shoe or blowtorch.

2.) I’ve been cliff diving.

3.) I have nine horses.

4.) I write speculative fiction but I’m a bit of a romantic at heart. Those two things can go together. 😉

5.) I’ve started learning Korean.

6.) I’ve never been out of the country, but I’m planning on it.

7.) I’m slightly OCD about locking doors and hand washing. I’m not quite a Monk character, yet.

8.) I’m still slightly afraid of the dark… Of course, I also feel like I have to investigate every weird noise when I’m home alone. I like to face things head on, even though I keep my door cracked open at night.

9.) Pizza is my favorite food.

10.) I’m an extrovert who still loves rainy days and alone time.

Have you thought of your ten yet?

Now, take this exercise and apply it to one of your characters. List ten things about him or her that others might not know about. You don’t have to list all of these things in your book, but little details like these help to build a person’s character. What are their quirks and habits? What strange, amazing things have they experienced in their lives so far? What are they afraid of. What’s their favorite food?

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

6 comments on “Ten Random Things

  1. Pizza is my favorite, too, with pasta a close second. Such bad things for me!!
    Korean from dramas? 😉

    • Yay for pizza! And maybe… haha. I have the Pimsleur learning cds that I can pop into my cd player on the way to work. 🙂

      • I love Pimsleur! I have the Japanese lessons on audiobook chips (they don’t sell them that way anymore). If you’re ever bored, I find watching dramas and listening to music really helps your ears learn to hear all the nuances of the sounds of the language. Plus you can’t help but learn phrases that are repeated a lot.

        • Yes! I totally get the repeated phrases thing. 🙂 I put my headphones on this evening and was listening to a lesson on my walk, trying to multitask!

  2. Nine horses? Goodness! I’ll bet they keep you busy!

    1. I learned to write by writing Sonic the Hedgehog fanfiction.

    2. I still write one from time to time.

    3. I’m a consummate gamer. MMOs, FPS, and quieter simulation games like Sim City and Minecraft.

    4. I’ve never seen Firefly, only Serenity.

    5. Matt Smith is my Doctor.

    6. Minecraft mod packs are where it’s at. Current addictions: Regrowth and Pixelmon.

    7. I like food, and cooking, and eating. I weigh 110 lbs. I think I must like eating the way hummingbirds do.

    8. I relate to werewolves, but not vampires.

    9. In Malevolent, Mal’s magic bees come from a Minecraft mod pack titled, appropriately, Magic Bees.

    10. My first crush was a Sega Genesis.

    • They do! Haha.
      Watch Firefly but there’s a couple episodes you might want to skip.
      Fanfic sounds like a cool way to break into writing. 🙂
      I like food but I have to exercise like crazy to balance that, lol.

Leave a Reply

