Leave a comment

Fresh Starts

So, last week I mentioned that I’d taken the last couple of weeks off from any writing related activities. Of course the creative side of my brain wasn’t cool with the idea, hence all of the mental notes I’ve been compiling. 😉

tn-resting-in-christ-1140x633

Honestly, I’m so glad I took the break. I really needed to step back and make sure that my heart was right with the Lord. For the last year I’d felt myself growing colder and colder in my relationship with the Lord and with others. This coldness had drifted over into my writing as well, to the point where I felt a great sense of dread whenever I’d work on my manuscript. If you’d asked me why I felt this dread, I wouldn’t have been able to explain it to you. Writing felt like a burden instead of a work I truly enjoyed. It was during this process of stepping back that I spent some time seeking the Lord and investing in some of the relationships that I’d been neglecting.

Over the course of the last month I’ve felt the Lord really working in my heart and kindly drawing me back to Himself. He does this for us quite a bit, doesn’t he? Some of the relationships that needed healing have been restored. I feel less depressed and much more peaceful and hopeful. When I think about my writing, I feel like a great burden has been lifted from my shoulders. I’m excited about diving back in again. And I’m excited that I’m excited! 🙂

I think sometimes it’s a good idea to take a step back and make sure our focus is right before moving forward.

So, what now?

Well, tomorrow I’m going rafting with my family. I’m guessing there will be some good story fodder in that adventure! And on Thursday I’m going to start editing again.

“The Christian does not think God will love us because we are good, but that God will make us good because He loves us.” C.S. Lewis

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

Leave a Reply

