4 Comments

A Walk

I wrote this post a few years ago but it definitely applies to my life right now too. For the past week I’ve taken a break from most writing related things. I’ve wanted to take the time to pray and seek the Lord over my writing and make sure my heart is in the right place before I press on. I hope this post is an encouragement to you.

I think one thing the Lord has pressed upon my heart this week has been to not neglect the gifts He’s given me and that He’ll be the one giving me the strength to accomplish them. 🙂

The other day I went for a walk.

sunset

After reaching the end of our long, gravel drive I finally turned and began to make my way back to the house. But before I’d made it too far I turned to watch the sun as it set. I took a deep breath, the sky was a brilliant explosion of orange, purple, and rich red hues. The colors were vibrant, alive!

After a moment I pulled myself away from the beautiful scene, wanting to make it back before dark, but when I turned to face the road ahead all I could see was a slate gray expanse, dark and cold. There was nothing beautiful there.

Again I started walking.

A cold wind blew against me and I shivered as I pulled my hands further up into the sleeves of my hoodie. I tried to picture the steaming cup of coffee that would be waiting for me back at home. I walked a little faster.

The road curved around a bend and suddenly there it was again, the sun, setting in all of its full glory, the brilliance of its last moments even greater than it had been just a few minutes before.

I smiled as a thought hit me.

There are times in my life when I can’t see clearly all that my Father is doing and I become fearful of the dark path ahead. But even then I can walk on knowing that the end result will be a beautiful thing. For the believer the path’s destination is not “Death” but “Life.”

“Blind fear gropes wildly in the darkness;
Trust sees calmly through eyes that cannot fail.”

I’m grateful for a loving Father who cares to reveal more of Himself to me even when I’m doing something really simple, like taking a walk.

“But, as it is written,
‘What no eye has seen, nor ear heard,
nor the heart of man imagined,
what God has prepared for those who love him’”—(1 Corinthians 2:9 ESV)

“Let your eyes look directly forward,
and your gaze be straight before you.
Ponder the path of your feet;
then all your ways will be sure.” (Proverbs 4:25-26 ESV)

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

4 comments on “A Walk

  1. Thank you, Brittany. I awoke in a cold sweat this morning, worrying about certain situations the Lord has given me. My eyes were fixed on the cold and darkness. You made me look up. “So we have the prophetic word made more sure, to which you do well to pay attention as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star arises in our hearts.” II Peter 2:19— It turned out to be a glorious morning.

Leave a Reply

