2 Comments

Traveling With Tolkien Part Three

So, after being away for almost two weeks, we finally made it home!

“Yes, I am here. And you are lucky to be here too after all the absurd things you’ve done since you left home.”

CNeKLa2

It’s nice to be back and sleeping in my own bed.

“Roads go ever ever on,
Under cloud and under star.
Yet feet that wandering have gone
Turn at last to home afar.
Eyes that fire and sword have seen,
And horror in the halls of stone
Look at last on meadows green,
And trees and hills they long have known.”

When I got home from Realm Makers I was feeling motivated so I completely changed up my writing space. I’m ready to finish editing my book!

“A single dream is more powerful than a thousand realities.”

 Realm Makers 2016 was amazing! Replace hobbits in the quote below with writers and there you have it.

“My dear Frodo!’ exclaimed Gandalf. ‘Hobbits really are amazing creatures, as I have said before. You can learn all that there is to know about their ways in a month, and yet after a hundred years they can still surprise you at a pinch.”

One of my favorite parts of the conference was definitely the costume dinner on Friday.

“When Mr. Bilbo Baggins of Bag End announced that he would shortly be celebrating his eleventy-first birthday with a party of special magnificence, there was much talk and excitement in Hobbiton.”

It was great catching up with old friends and making new ones. 🙂

“I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.”

Oops! That was not the quote I was looking for. 😉

“You can trust us to stick to you through thick and thin – to the bitter end. And you can trust us to keep any secret of yours – closer than you yourself keep it. But you cannot trust us to let you face trouble alone, and go off without a word. We are your friends, Frodo. Anyway: there it is. We know most of what Gandalf has told you. We know a good deal about the ring. We are horribly afraid–but we are coming with you; or following you like hounds.”

This one’s more like it. 🙂

The campus was gorgeous. I did get lost quite frequently though.

“Not all those who wander are lost”

Except for me, I’m always lost.

13669707_10206210354488916_5178838643963798007_n

After the conference we did a little sightseeing on the way home.

“You aren’t nearly through this adventure yet.”

It was a wonderful trip and I’m really looking forward to Realm Makers 2017 but I’m glad to be home and writing again. 🙂

“But Sam turned to Bywater, and so came back up the Hill, as day was ending once more. And he went on, and there was yellow light, and fire within; and the evening meal was ready, and he was expected. And Rose drew him in, and set him in his chair, and put little Elanor upon his lap.
He drew a deep breath. ‘Well, I’m back,’ he said”

Now I’m just sitting here, waiting for my ramen to cool so I can get back to work.

13988638_10206263145968670_260378930_n

What are you guys up to? Hope your week is going well so far.

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

2 comments on “Traveling With Tolkien Part Three

  1. Ah, Williamsburg is truly a fantastic place. Tolkien quotes just make the place better.

Leave a Reply

