3 Comments

To The Younger Me

Things I wish I could tell the younger, writer me:

635934148383695904190770395_writrrr

1.) I wish I could tell myself to pick up a few craft books and study.
I knew not that I knew not. 😉

2.) I wish I could tell myself to accept criticism with a gracious and teachable spirit.
They were critiquing me as a person, right?

3.) I wish I could tell myself not to lose all hope after a critique.
Learn and grow! Don’t get depressed. Don’t give up. Keep going!

4.) Write a little every day.
Don’t procrastinate. Write now. Write later. Write on that little piece of napkin in the Chinese restaurant.

5.) Connect with other writers.
Writers, they do exist.

6.) Pray and trust the Lord with your writing.
He cares about you and He’s the one who called you to write in the first place. You can trust Him!

7.) Get out and live.
Reading and writing are wonderful things but you need to get out and breathe in the fresh air a little.

8.) Have fun! 🙂
You used to think writing was fun, remember?

“Fairy tale does not deny the existence of sorrow and failure: the possibility of these is necessary to the joy of deliverance. It denies (in the face of much evidence, if you will) universal final defeat…giving a fleeting glimpse of Joy; Joy beyond the walls of the world, poignant as grief.” J.R.R. Tolkien

What are some things you would tell the younger you?

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

3 comments on “To The Younger Me

  1. Ah, such good advice to any new writer!!! Great post, Britt!

  2. Reblogged this on Brittany Valentine.

Leave a Reply

