4 Comments

Not As Described

I put the iPod back on its charger. This was totally frustrating.

cracked-ipod-touch

It had absolutely no battery life whatsoever. It was a total waste of the money I’d spent. I’d purchased the iPod on eBay and been assured that it was in perfect condition. At this point I was disappointed but happy that I’d not spent very much on it. I went back online and left my review. The item was definitely not as described.

Sometimes I find myself feeling this way about my life in general, item not as described. Sometimes I don’t feel like my life is going exactly how I expected it to go. It’s not how I pictured it in my teens or even my early twenties. It’s not bad or anything but it’s certainly different.

There are times when I find myself asking God what He’s doing in my life. Did I miss something? Was there some other road I was supposed to take? Did I miss road A somewhere along the line and end up on road B?

74d7b47ab5ac1246a0a75ef2ab198abf

Had I really missed it?

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

“The plans of the heart belong to man,
but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord.” Proverbs 16:1

“Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21

“You search out my path and my lying down
and are acquainted with all my ways.
Even before a word is on my tongue,
behold, O
Lord, you know it altogether.
You hem me in, behind and before,
and
lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is high; I cannot attain it.” Psalm 139:3-6

According to these verses, I don’t think so. Just because I can’t see the entire path clearly, doesn’t mean it’s the wrong one. If I could see it clearly, I probably wouldn’t feel the need to trust the Lord, would I? God’s path A for my life may look completely different than my path A but it certainly doesn’t mean it’s the wrong path. And if I knew everything He does, I would want that path more than any other.

I want to remember that just because the path looks a little foreign to me doesn’t mean it’s the wrong path. I want to remember that God is the one doing the leading. God is in control. There will never be a point in my life where God is wringing His hands wondering how I managed to get off of path A and onto to path B. 🙂

Does your path look exactly like you thought it would?

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

4 comments on “Not As Described

  1. Nice post. Sometimes things don’t make sense even later.

    As for you purchase, if it wasn’t too long ago, you’re due a full refund after contacting eBay because the item was damaged and not as deprived; unless sold as is.
    Good luck on your refund. 🙂

    • Thanks! I’ll definitely have to look into that and see if it qualifies for a refund.
      And, yeah, I think there are some things that won’t make total sense until we’re in heaven with the Lord.

  2. My path looks nothing like I thought it would! And that’s okay. It took some getting used to and a whole lot of trust in God, but now I see that this is a good thing. All the decisions I made, good and bad, have led me here. This place I’m in now, the path I’m on, was specifically designed by Him for me. To use the talents He gave me and all my experiences to do exactly what He created me to do.

    • Love this Amy! I know I’ve only heard parts of your testimony before but it’s so encouraging to me.

Leave a Reply

