4 Comments

Antiheroes

This week I’m sharing some of my favorite antiheroes.

Definition of antihero: a central character in a novel, play, etc, who lacks the traditional heroic virtues.

“Captain” Carswell Thorne

lunar-chronicles-by-marissa-meyer

An intelligent and skilled pilot, Carswell Thorne doesn’t like to be told what to do with his life. He lives how he pleases and stealing to turn a quick profit doesn’t bother him at all. This changes when he runs into Cinder, a princess on the run. Thorne helps Cinder and her friends, first out of self-interest but later as a true friend. Thorne’s quick wit and ability to think on his feet help the group out of many tricky situations.

“Thorne “I don’t like to think of it as ‘stolen. They have no proof that I didn’t plan on giving it back”.” Marissa Meyer, Scarlet

“Cactuses and tumbleweeds?”
“No just a lot of sand. It’s kind of orangish-gold, with hints of pink, and I can see tiny clouds of it floating above the ground, like…like smoke.”
“Piles up in lots of hills?”
“Yes, exactly! And it’s beautiful.”
Thorne snorted. “If this is how you feel about a desert, I can’t wait until you see your first real tree. Your mind will explode.”  Marissa Meyer, Cress

Er…” Thorne furrowed his brow, aiming the gun somewhere near the window. “Could you describe all those threats again because I feel like I missed something.”  Marissa Myer Cress

Malcolm ‘Mal’ Reynolds

53ed6b5c6f53f91e0cac23bc66317de1

Capt. Mal has lived a hard life. He fought on the losing side in a great war and now lives from job to job with his crew on the ship Serenity. Life’s not easy but even though he’s often on the wrong side of the law, Mal sticks to his own code of ethics. He’s loyal to a fault and not afraid to use unorthodox methods to achieve his goals. I mean, who else would kick the bad guy into a running turbine engine?

The Operative: You’re fighting a war you’ve already lost.
Capt. Malcolm Reynolds: Yeah, well, I’m known for that.

Zoë: [looking around the Valley] Don’t think it’s a good spot, Sir. She still has the advantage over us.
Mal: Everyone always does. That’s what makes us special.

Dr. Simon Tam: Why’d you come back for us?
Mal: You’re on my crew.
Dr. Simon Tam: But you don’t even like me. Why’d you come back?
Mal: You’re on my crew. Why are we still talking about this?

Maleficent

movie-quiz-maleficent

Maleficent was cruelly betrayed by the man she loved. From that day forward she vowed revenge. She found that revenge by cursing the man’s only child, a little girl named Aurora. Even though Maleficent’s original intentions were to destroy the child, her life is changed as she spends more time with her. Maleficent goes from being a bitter, hardened creature to a fiercely loyal friend, role model, and protector.

Princess Aurora: I know you’re there. Don’t be afraid.
Maleficent: I’m not afraid.
Princess Aurora: Then come out.
Maleficent: Then *you’ll* be afraid.

Princess Aurora: All the other fairies fly, why don’t you?
Maleficent: I had wings once, and they were strong. But they were stolen from me.

Maleficent: [before kissing Aurora to awaken her from her enchanted sleep] I will not ask your forgiveness because what I have done to you is unforgivable. I was so lost in hatred and revenge. Sweet Aurora, you stole what was left of my heart. And now I have lost you forever. I swear, no harm will come to you as long as I live. And not a day shall pass that I don’t miss your smile.

Han Solo

Han-Solo-Movie-021016

Han Solo’s lived his life with one person in mind, himself, at least that’s what he keeps telling himself and everyone else. He’s a skilled pilot and smooth talking smuggler, though some call him a scruffy-looking nerf-herder. Han’s life changes abruptly when he gets caught up in the trouble surrounding Luke Skywalker. He finds himself faced with a decision. He can either run away and save his own skin or help fight for a cause that could save them all.

Han Solo: Hokey religions and ancient weapons are no match for a good blaster at your side, kid.

Luke Skywalker: [about Princess Leia] They’re gonna execute her! Look, a few minutes ago you said you didn’t want to just wait here to be captured. Now all you want to do is stay?
Han Solo: Marching into a detention area is not what I had in mind.
Luke Skywalker: But they’re gonna kill her!
Han Solo: Better her than me!

Rey: The Jedi were real?
Han Solo: I used to wonder about that myself. Thought it was a bunch of mumbo-jumbo. A magical power holding together good and evil… the dark side and the light. Crazy thing is… it’s true. The Force. The Jedi. All of it. It’s all true.

So, who’s your favorite antihero?

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

4 comments on “Antiheroes

  1. Ahhh, thanks for the quotes! 😀 I needed a good dose of snark this morning, and between this post and Kat Heckenbach’s FANTASTIC marketing ‘advice’, I’m good to go.

    • No problem! Glad you liked it. 🙂 I had a great time looking them up. I’ll have to check out Kat’s post too!

  2. Mal Reynolds without a doubt. (Still waiting for that second season, Joss!!) Except when it comes to Inara, Mal has a firm moral code. I’m sure further seasons of Firefly would have dismantled that.

    I’ll have to check out Maleficent.

    • I know! There needs to be that second season. And, yes, there were definitely things in the show that I could have lived without. Where’s the skip button? Lol. Maleficent really is a good one.

Leave a Reply

