Leave a comment

The Editing Battle

“A writer is someone for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.”
Thomas Mann

Sometimes writing feels like you’re in a battle with the blank page or in a battle with the pages of words you’ve already written.

Sometimes it really feels like this:

e8718149b6ff16738c8f790f51a3cf3d

But there are also the times when you see a scene playing out like a movie in your head, the times when your fingers can’t move over the keys fast enough, the times when you feel excitement for your story all over again.

We don’t write because it’s easy, do we? We write because we can’t not write.

“A non-writing writer is a monster courting insanity.” Franz Kafka

I’ve spent this week really digging into my story. I’ve been ripping it apart and rebuilding it. I’ve panicked. I’ve gotten excited. I’ve drunk loads of coffee and made my sister enact fight scenes with me. That was fun. 🙂 I’ve marked up my planner and tried to make sure that my goals are actually doable. At this point I’m still not sure. 😉

My writing space looks a little chaotic right now but I’m in a cleaning phase with everything else, go figure.

But I’m working again. I’m making progress. I’m conquering fears!

I like to listen to music while I’m working. I’ve been listening to this album that my sister introduced me to. It’s fun and upbeat. If you’re looking for something new to try, you should check it out. Really, you should. 😉

akdong-musician-a1

 

How is your week going? I love to hear from you guys!

Oh, did I mention I’m also putting together my costume for Realm Makers? I’m so excited about this year’s costume as last year’s sort of fell apart last minute. Are you going to RM this year? Are you dressing up?

 

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

Leave a Reply

