2 Comments

Horses and Mules

Bandit lowered his head and started to charge

I squared my shoulders, raised the stick in my hand, and yelled as loud as I could. I was in the middle of the field. There was nowhere to hide and there was no way I could outrun him. This wasn’t the first time this particular horse had acted out like this and he hadn’t managed to run me over yet, still I wasn’t taking any chances.

He kept coming.

I yelled louder and looked to see if there were any of our huge thoroughbreds nearby so I could take cover behind one of them, no such luck. I yelled again, making myself look as big and scary as possible. I’m relatively short so this isn’t easy. I’m waving the stick like  a crazy person at this point and it’s a good thing we live way out in the country where no one can see me.

Finally he skids to a stop while he’s still a decent way off, shakes his big gray head at me, and saunters off. He gives me just enough attitude so that I’ll realize he stopped because he wanted to, not because I scared him off. At this point I’m really mad so I throw the stick at his back end, missing entirely.

horse-animal

Bandit is the most obnoxious, selfish, obstinate horse I’ve ever owned. The funny thing is he’s a completely different animal when you put a bit into his mouth. He’s relatively well behaved and easy to ride.

When I have more time, I’m going to do some intense ground work with him because he has no respect for anyone when he’s not bridled.

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;
    I will counsel you with my eye upon you.

Be not like a horse or a mule, without understanding,
    which must be curbed with bit and bridle,
    or it will not stay near you.

Many are the sorrows of the wicked,
    but steadfast love surrounds the one who trusts in the Lord. Psalms 32:8-10

How many times in my own life have I behaved just like Bandit. How many times have I selfishly insisted on my own way and failed to trust the Lord?

I don’t want to be the kind of child who only responds when I’m forced to. I want to be the kind of child who trusts their father completely, no matter what the circumstance is.

Have you ever been in a situation where it was really hard to trust the Lord? I’m really thankful we have a Father who mercifully forgives us and loves us even though we can be as stubborn as Bandit.

I hope your week is going well so far and that you’re getting lots accomplished on your WIP. Right now I’m editing like a crazy person. 😉

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

2 comments on “Horses and Mules

  1. Excellent post, Brittany.

Leave a Reply

