Leave a comment

Gone Camping

gret1012355_edited-1 (1000x710)

Photo by Gretchen E.K. Engel

I grew up camping. My family drove from Indiana to Alaska in a pickup truck with a camper. Twice. Every summer until I was ten we went to Yellowstone. Sometimes just a drive through other times we spent the better part of a week there.

We drove through San Francisco, Los Angeles, and San Diego (which was much smaller in the early 1980s) in the same pickup camper. We even stayed in a campground in Anaheim and walked to Disneyland. We drove all over Boston and through NYC to the Hamptons in the VW Vanagon in the picture.

From Girl Scout camp to church camp, to ladies’ retreats, if there’s a tent or cabin involved I’m there. Same goes for writing. When a writing friend posted about Camp NaNoWriMo, I was in! I created an account, set up a cabin and invited friends. You have to sign up separately from NaNoWriMo but can use your same profile. For Camp NaNoWriMo, I’m editing and not writing, so I set my goal more or less to pages edited rather than word count since I expect to have a negative word count when I’m finished.

My cabin is full but you may still be able to sign up. If not, pick a month, grab some friends and make a commitment to edit and/or write!

Are you participating in Camp NaNoWriMo? Are you up for NaNoWriMo in November?

About Gretchen E K Engel

Chemical engineer by day, spec fiction writer by night

Leave a Reply

