2 Comments

Habits

I turn on the TV and drag my elliptical trainer into the middle of the room. I really don’t want to exercise today. I groan and mutter under my breath as I turn on Netflix. What I really want to do is take a long nap or maybe just drink some more coffee.

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAJVAAAAJGIxYTM1ODUzLWIyNzEtNDJmYi1hNjM0LTg1ODZmNzFlZGY5ZA

Exercise, I have a love/hate relationship with it. I love the way I feel when I’m working out and living in a healthy way. My blood sugar becomes easier to handle, I have more energy, clothes fit better. 😉 But sometimes I just don’t feel like doing the work. Sometimes I feel too tired, too busy. It’s those times when I remind myself that working out today pays off tomorrow. Chances are if I eat well and exercise today, my blood sugar will be stable tomorrow and I’ll feel more energized in the other tasks I have to do.

I’m not saying that there aren’t days I skip or days when there really isn’t enough time to work it in but getting into the habit of working out and eating right, even when I don’t feel like it, pays off.

I think it’s the same for writing and any other task you have to do.

“I hate writing, I love having written.” Dorothy Parker

I don’t know if I feel this way completely but I do understand the feeling. Sometimes I really don’t feel like writing. Sometimes I just want to take that nap, drink one more cup of coffee, and forget that looming deadline! But each day that I sit down in front of that laptop, it gets easier and I make progress. Writing today pays off tomorrow and the next day and the next day after that.

I know I harp on this subject a lot and it’s probably because I’m a perfectionist and a procrastinator so I’m preaching to the choir. Ha!

a-year-from-now-karen-lamb-600-wm

Do you have a love/hate relationship with writing? Do you find it hard to get into the habit of writing? Honestly, I really do like a good deadline, especially when it’s not just self-imposed. 🙂

I hope all of you are having a great week so far!

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

2 comments on “Habits

  1. The worst part of habits is how hard they are to form, and how easy they are to break.

    My relationship with writing isn’t love/hate. Right now, writing and I have broken up. We’re not speaking to each other, we’re not noticing each other, and one of us leaves the room when the other comes in. I don’t even know what happened. But neither of us wants to be the first to apologize – I mean, obviously *I* can’t be wrong about something, right? – so we just go on not going on. I don’t know. Maybe it’s over for good.

    *Sigh* I wonder what happened?

  2. Haha! I know the feeling. For myself, I find that once I get past the first two weeks my habits become pretty strong. I really don’t want to quit after that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

