3 Comments

Quotes to Inspire

This week I’ve been adding words to my manuscript. Sometimes the words flow fast and furious and sometimes they trickle out like a broken faucet that won’t shut off all the way.
Occasionally I find myself needing a boost, something to push me toward my goal. Gulps down coffee.

10380299_588233661275041_8918904621506538687_n
This week I thought I’d share some writing quotes to help inspire us as we write and edit. 🙂

“This is how you do it: you sit down at the keyboard and you put one word after another until it’s done. It’s that easy, and that hard.” Neil Gaiman

“I have claimed that Escape is one of the main functions of fairy-stories, and since I do not disapprove of them, it is plain that I do not accept the tone of scorn or pity with which ‘Escape’ is now so often used. Why should a man be scorned if, finding himself in prison, he tries to get out and go home? Or if he cannot do so, he thinks and talks about other topics than jailers and prison-walls?” J.R.R. Tolkien

“Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.” Stephen King”

3986_103128_1

“No one starts out a brilliant writer, or even a decent writer, and I think few writers ever reach a point where we’re like, “By golly, I am amazing.” We are always learning. We are always striving to be better. We can always point out our own weaknesses and flaws, but we’re storytellers, so we keep writing and improving as much as we can.
So don’t quit because you think you suck or you’ll never be as good as So-and-So. We all have to start somewhere.” Marissa Meyer

“A non-writing writer is a monster courting insanity.” Franz Kafka

“If I actually write three to five hours, that’s a productive day. Some days all I do is stare at the wall. That can be productive, too, if you’re working out character and plot problems. The rest of the time, I walk around with the story slipping in and out of my thoughts.” Suzanne Collins

20183a5d114ac473f61b76cf037b71a8

“You can make anything by writing.” C.S. Lewis

“Write what you love. Plenty of people will tell you that being published is an unrealistic goal, or what you love to write isn’t “Real” literature, but ignore them. Write what you love, and never apologize for it. Yes, it’s a long road to publication, but that’s a good thing. You’ll only make it if you have a story that you love with your entire heart and soul, and the only person that can ever make you stop writing is you.” Sarah J Maas

“A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.” Richard Bach

89638

“I always advise children who ask me for tips on being a writer to read as much as they possibly can. Jane Austen gave a young friend the same advice, so I’m in good company there.”
“You have to resign yourself to the fact that you waste a lot of trees before you write anything you really like, and that’s just the way it is. It’s like learning an instrument, you’ve got to be prepared for hitting wrong notes occasionally, or quite a lot, cause I wrote an awful lot before I wrote anything I was really happy with.” JK Rowling

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

3 comments on “Quotes to Inspire

  1. Some excellent quotes in there. I especially like the one from Tolkien. I love writing quotes, all quotes, really. I have an 83 page document full of them, plus countless others scribbled in notebooks. I usually post one every week or so on my blog.

    Here’s another one on writing for you.

    “Writing is like farm work. Solitary, demanding, and you don’t do it for the money.”

    – Sibella Giorello

    • Love that one!
      I sort of understand it from the farm perspective too. I have horses and you don’t bale hay and fix fences for the money. 🙂

Leave a Reply

