4 Comments

Seasons

I look at the pile of work building on my desk and start to sweat. Working and pursuing a writing career can really stress me out at times. How will I ever get all of this done? And a better question, am I even capable of getting it done?

I sit down and run my hands through my hair, wishing I could fast forward time. If only I had a book already published, then maybe I could work less and pursue my writing more. If only I had more time, more energy, more money, more talent… Time passes and I’m no closer to starting in on that pile of work than I was half an hour ago.

So many times I find myself wishing for different circumstances, wishing that this time of my life were over and the next “Easier” time begun. I find I can spend so much time and energy longing for what could or will be that I neglect the things that are important now.

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:

(Ecclesiastes 3:1 ESV)

four-seasons-wallpaper

I need to remember that this time is a special season in my life, a season that will soon be over and a season I will never be able to return to. If I waste it by looking too much to the next then I’m setting myself an unhealthy precedent. There’s no certainty that I will be perfectly content and happy with the next season either. (Each season has its own blessings and challenges.) Before I know it my life will be over and I will have wasted much of it.

The season I’m in now has been ordained by God. It’s special and unique. So instead of wishing it away, I’m going to enjoy it and I’m going to passionately pursue the tasks He’s given me, knowing that He will give me everything I need to accomplish His will.

I hope all of you are having a great week so far. Thanks for letting me share a little.

Oh, and Happy Valentine’s Day! 🙂

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

4 comments on “Seasons

  1. Now, that’s some healthy perspective. 🙂

    Just so you know, the “easier time” hasn’t come for me either. And I’m a LOT older than you are. Just something to bear in mind. 🙂

  2. Great insights, Brittany. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

