6 Comments

This Week

I thought I’d give an update and then see how you guys were doing.

Remember, It’s only Wednesday. We still have time to make some progress!

355fb90a0d9ce3298d6679be516c7e7a

This week I’ve been writing summaries of every chapter in my book on index cards and pinning them to my corkboard.

I’ve been trying to get a better feel for the big picture, to see what works and what doesn’t. It turns out there’s a lot I need to add. But this is the part I like. I like making sure the threads are where they need to be and making sure the character arcs come across as natural. I like making all the pieces fit. Of course, sometimes I want to run as far away from those pieces as I can. Ha!

I know I can do the same thing on Scrivener and someday I probably will. For now, being the tech challenged person that I am, I’ll stick to working it out this way. 😉

 

 

 

Another thing that helps me in the editing process is to keep detailed notes of any information pertaining to my series. My memory is pretty bad so I have lots of notes. I try to keep this information all in one spot and organized so I can easily find the things I need. I keep digital copies too. I will admit to finding random pieces of paper or crumpled napkins with important notes on them. Shoves napkins in binder.

So, that’s what I’ve been working on this week. I also had a mild car fiasco in which a vicious gang of mice decided to spend the night in my car. It was traumatizing. Shivers.

What are you guys up to? Are you getting ready to write The End? Are you starting a new project, in the middle of an old one? Did you fight a gang of mice?

 

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

6 comments on “This Week

  1. Love the quote, and post, Brittany.

    • Thanks, Lucy! Hope your writing week is going well. I’ve had my second cup of coffee and now I’m getting ready to dive back in. Of course, a third cup doesn’t sound so bad…

  2. You go, Brittany!

    I’m stuck in my project. After thinking about it for so long, and starting strong in November and early December, I’ve gone off the rails since just before Christmas and haven’t gotten back on them yet.

    By the way, author Dean Wesley Smith calls what you do with notecards “reverse outlining.” It’s one method pantsers can use to stay on track and not forget where the story’s been. Works like a charm. 🙂

    • That’s really cool. I’m definitely an outline sort of person but when I finished my first draft I knew I needed to see the big picture again and work some things out.

      • I used to be an outliner too. Goodness, I have one template for a story that’s more than fifteen pages long, and that’s not as long as I’ve heard of some outlines going. Not by a long shot.

        But for me, the outlining registered something in my brain that said, “Finished.” So when I sat down to write the story, my creative voice was saying, “Already wrote that story. Next!” I couldn’t write anything. So I started writing into the dark, no outline, “pantsing” as the kewl kidz say. And my stories are better for it. *Shrug*

        Everyone has their own way, but I always try to encourage writers to try different things at different times and with different stories. Just to see. What works today won’t necessarily work in five, ten, twenty years. So have an arsenal to use.

Leave a Reply

