3 Comments

Recharging

Do you ever find it hard to write after you’ve been busy all week, after you’ve run to and from work, cleaned house, made sure your family was still alive? Are there times when you feel drained of anything remotely resembling creativity?

tired-lady

If the girl pictured above was wearing a sweatshirt and had her hair in a messy bun, she could be me on any given day. 😉 I know what it feels like to be burned-out, to feel like you’d rather do anything than face your manuscript.

While I’ve found that there are definitely times when I need to force myself into that chair, I’ve also found that sometimes I need to recharge my creative batteries.

Here are some ways I recharge:

1.) Reading

Reading, I mean it’s pretty obvious right? If you’re a writer then you need to read. Even though I love reading, I’ve found that I can get so busy that I don’t have the time to read as much as I’d like. So, sit down and read a book. Immerse yourself in a story world and be inspired! I’m looking at my to be read pile right now.

2.) Walks

I love walking and hiking and anything that gets me out of doors. It’s a great way to experience the world outside of the cubicle, work station, or couch. Even if it’s just a walk around the block or down the field behind your house, get outside and enjoy the fresh air. It does wonders for the imagination.

3.) Movies/TV Shows

I’m not saying you should go on a Netflix binge (Making guilty face) but movies are just another form of story. Sometimes you’ll watch something that will spark an idea for your novel or give you the extra push you need to keep working on your manuscript. Creativity breeds creativity or something like that anyway. 😉

4.) Music

Music has a special way of moving us, relaxing us, or getting us pumped up to do something, cue the Rocky theme song. Take a break, listen to some music, make a writing playlist.

This is one of my favorite albums.

a0183069230_10

 

5.) I guess I should probably add drinking coffee and getting adequate rest to the list, ha!

So, this week my goal is to follow my own list and get to work!

What helps you to recharge?

 

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

3 comments on “Recharging

  1. I hear ya. I’m in a funk right now. I have a partial manuscript, about 11K words in right now, and just can’t seem to find the time, energy and wherewithal to just sit down and get BICFOK time. I simply can’t.

    Since Christmas, it’s been tough. I vowed I’d do a lot of work over that vacation on the manuscript, and I did nothing. Nada. Well, maybe a few thousand toward the end, but otherwise, I just enjoyed being with my family, resting, recharging. Now the new year’s brought a slurry of things taking my time and energy in a huge number of ways, and all of a sudden, January’s almost over and I got nothin’. Bupkis. Zippo.

    Ah well. If the Lord is willing, there will be tomorrow. Right? 🙂

  2. I have a hard time recharging at all. I go-go-go all the time, so I rarely even notice when I need to recharge. Seems like I’ve lived my life for the last 10 years running on fumes and didn’t even know it. But recently I’ve been trying to focus more on resting and doing things that restore me.

    Among them is a prayer journal I’ve started keeping. It’s really cool because when you get to a certain point, you can go back and re-read older entries and marvel at what God has done.

    But most recently I’ve started coloring in one of those adult coloring books! I didn’t expect to find it relaxing, but it actually is. It’s really nice to have a small project that provides instantaneous results, and in the end you have a pretty picture that you’ve made. You can give it away or keep it to remind you that you CAN finish stuff!

    • I love the idea of a prayer journal. It’s something I’ve done off and on through the years but I really want to make it a habit!
      I’ve never tried an adult coloring book but I did buy one for my sister. Maybe it’s something I’ll have to try too. 🙂
      And, yes! We do need the reminder that we can finish stuff!!!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

