2 Comments

Launch!

Common Homonyms 3

Toward the end of last year, I hinted about upcoming projects I was going to be unveiling on my website.

Well, that time has come!

I have officially launched my website and my new author mentoring and editing business.

I shared a little bit about my own writing journey, and explained what I can do. In short, I want to mentor new authors. The people who are where I’ve been, and who will be helped by what I’ve learned along the way.

I’m currently taking on clients and building my mailing list. In addition to that, I’m scheduling speaking engagements at local writers’ groups and conferences.

I am also launching a series of ebooks, Writing Craft 101, covering the basics of writing craft. Not big, detailed craft books, like Writing Fiction for Dummies by Randy Ingermanson or Plot vs. Character by Jeff Gerke or any of the other wonderful craft books that would do a much better job of guiding a writer through the intricacies of the art, but the basics for people who don’t know what POV is or the difference between telling and showing.

The first in the series, a Handy Handbook of Common Homonyms, is already available on Amazon. In working for Havok and in critiquing novels for people, I have come across a lot of words that people, including educated, experienced writers, use wrong. It’s easy to do, and often it’s just a typo, and sure, it’s easy enough to look up, but I thought how handy it would be to have a handbook that listed words that sound the same but are spelled differently for a quick reference guide so writers would know which word they wanted to use in their given context.

More ebooks with some of these basic concepts will come out throughout this year.

I’m also continuing to work on The Amulet Saga, Volume Two: The Traveler. My goal is to produce one Amulet Saga collection a year for the foreseeable future.

And, of course, I’m still working on my novels, hoping to see something happen there soon, but not waiting until the magic formula is right to work on other things.

This is the year where I’m taking control of my writing career and moving to the next level.

What about you? What are you doing this year? What are your plans? And how are you going to make them reality?

P.S. If you know someone who is just starting out, I’d appreciate you sending them my way!

 

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

2 comments on “Launch!

  1. Congratulations, Avily! Very exciting! Best of success!

Leave a Reply

