16 Comments

You watch Anime?

“Manga?” I rolled my eyes. “You’ve got to be kidding me.” Out of all the places we could have been in the bookstore, we’d ended up here?

My sister’s eyes widened and she shook her head.

“What?” I started to say. “It’s true. Manga is ridiculous.” I stopped when my brother gestured down the aisle. Five feet away a young lady was studying the manga on the shelves. I shut my mouth and got out of there as fast as I could.

“Well, that was embarrassing.” My brother said. He smiled and shook his head.

“You should have told me,” I whispered as we made our way out of the store.

My sister patted me on the shoulder. “We tried.”

This was me two years ago. I had never tried reading a manga or watching any anime. The only things that came to mind when I thought of them were half-dressed and overly muscled cartoon characters.

Right after this incident my siblings sat me down and forced me to watch an anime called Attack on Titan. By forced, I mean made me watch the first episode and then watched in shock as I powered through five more on my own.

I was hooked. The story was amazing! The characters even appeared normal, no crazy muscles or lack of clothing here. The speculative lover in me was thrilled. Here were worlds unexplored!

Since then I’ve watched quite a few anime and even added some manga to my bookshelves.

This week I thought I’d share some of my favorite anime. If you, like me, are hesitant to jump in this might interest you. Are there manga and anime that fit the lack of clothes and too much muscle description? Yes. But there are also some amazing ones out there that you won’t want to miss. ๐Ÿ™‚

1.) Attack on Titan

What happens when the walls you’ve been hiding behind for hundreds of years are destroyed? A young boy named Eren finds out when the monsters, called Titans, break through and destroy his hometown. Left an orphan, Eren waits for the time when he can join the Survey Corps to fight for freedom and the people he’s lost.

44560l

 

2.) Yona of the Dawn

A young, spoiled princess loses everything and everyone when her childhood friend betrays her family. Now she’s on the run with her bodyguard Hak. Together they’ll search for the four dragons of legend, the only ones who might be able to help her take back her kingdom.

64225l

 

3.) Library War

What if books were considered dangerous by the government? What if the only thing keeping the government from seizing books from the people was a special library task force? This is the world that Kasahara Iku lives in.

6166l

 

4.) Snow White with the Red Hair

Shirayuki works as an herbalist in her hometown. Forced to flee from the unwanted attentions of a spoiled prince, she ends up in a different country under the protection of her new friend Zen. This story gives a unique twist to the old Snow White tale.

75764l

 

Hopefully this will be enough to get your feet wet. ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you already watch anime? Do you have any favorites? Feel free to share in the comments.

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

16 comments on “You watch Anime?

  1. I’m a huge fan of Rurouni Kenshin, and I love Fullmetal Alchemist, both the original anime series and Brotherhood (but I’ll admit to liking Brotherhood better). I like a lot of anime, but those are the ones I’ll default to if I have to pick a favorite! I haven’t seen any of the ones you’ve mentioned, so they’re going on my to-watch list!

    • I’ve been wanting to start Fullmetal Alchemist! Right now I’m watching Inuyasha. I’ll have to put Rurouni Kenshin on my list too! I seriously didn’t know what I was missing. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • That was my answer, too: FullMetal Alchemist! The music is FAR superior in the original series, and I was so emotionally affected by some of the first episodes that I cried. Brotherhood (the reboot that actually follows the manga’s ending) rushes through some of the more emotional moments from the original, which was disappointing at first, but it ends up much more satisfactorily. I think I would recommend watching both versions…

      • Inuyasha is spectacular. Long but really good. There are two series of Inuyasha, though. The original anime doesn’t actually end. So there’s a second series released more recently called Inuyasha: The Final Act that has the actual conclusion.

        • I really love the characters in Inuyasha. It’s one of those shows that you can just sit down and laugh along with, though it does have its deep moments!

  2. Brittany, I have enjoyed all your posts, this one included!

    My students are obsessed with Attack on Titan, and I’ve been interested in Snow White since reading about it on Speculative Faith. I think you’ve just given feet to my hitherto “one day maybe” attitude…

    • Thank you so much! I’m so glad. Attack on Titan is really hard hitting but amazing and Snow White has all the feels. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Funny, the kids are watching Digimon as I type this. The original series–I’m a purist. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Have you tried Stein;s Gate? Time travel/alternate reality story, and it’s absolutely fascinating. Also, if you haven’t watched Miyazaki’s movies (like Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle), you’re missing out! Howl is also a book, and it introduced me to the fabulous books of Diana Wynne Jones. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Nothing wrong with being a purist. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve heard of Stein’s Gate but haven’t tried it yet. I will definitely put that one on my list too. I watched Howl’s Moving Castle and absolutely loved it! I will be checking out the book now for sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Admittedly, I’m new to anime and this is the ONLY one I’ve watched so far…but Madoka Magica is incredible! ๐Ÿ™‚ It starts out kind of like a typical schoolgirl show, but stick with it and it becomes fabulously complex and deep.

    I will have to check out some of the shows you listed here. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’ve never heard of that one so I’ll have to look it up! Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And I hope you like them! Barakamon is also a really good one, super sweet.

  5. Love Kenshin, Full Moon o Sagashite, Ouran High School Host Club, Fruits Basket… I never finished Inuyasha, Yu Yu Hakusho or Full Metal but they’ve been on my list for a while. I got side-tracked because I learned I usually prefer the manga and rarely watch much anime anymore. Favorites include Ouran, Fruits Basket, WJuliet, Hana Kimi – I’m a shoujo gal. Snow White with the Red Hair looks interesting. Attack on Titan, Naruto and One Piece are hugely popular so I’ll probably watch them eventually just because of that. My first anime/manga ever was Ranma 1/2.

    • Fruits Basket is so good. My brother bought the anime for me as a Christmas present.
      I totally understand about starting one and needing to finish it. I have several right now, lol.
      Some of these I haven’t heard of yet so more to look up. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Kamisama Hajimemashita is another favorite of mine. If you like Fruits Basket, you will probably like it too.

Leave a Reply

