Leave a comment

Word for 2016


Like many people I have decided to follow the trend of having a word of the year. In 2014 it was a phrase from The Count of Monte Cristo, which I had just read, “wait and hope.” It was fitting for the year after I attended my first ACFW conference and received positive outcomes from the manuscript I pitched. I felt that my time was near but not quite there.

My word for 2015 was similar, “perseverance” or “steadily moving forward”. I was promoted in 1014, assigned to a different department, took on a new role, and applied for a professional engineer (PE) certification in a second state. All great things for my career. I also had a short story published. Later in 2014, I received a second contract to publish a short story, this time in a print anthology versus a single electronic publication. Perseverance was perfect for a year that started off with great momentum.

Little did I know that it would also mean pushing through the most difficult year of my life. It’s a toss-up between Dickens and Shakespeare for the phrase that best described 2015, “it was the best of times; it was the worst of times” or “all’s well that ends well.”

Of course there were some outstanding m moments. I got some great work assignments that used my areas of expertise, and I became a PE in New Mexico. I had short stories published in both an anthology, Out of the Storm and a magazine, Havok (Kristen has a story in this issue too). Not to mention Realm Makers! I cannot begin to describe how much I needed this conference in my life last year both for my writing year as well as personally.

Perseverance paid off too. I “won” NaNoWriMo. I also completed two short stories.

Playing off perseverance from 2015, my 2016 word is “diligence”. I have two new short stories releasing in anthologies, and another short story coming out in a blog.

I’m committing to writing 10-12 short stories in 2016, I’m moving forward with my manuscript, and finishing my NaNo project. My professional and personal goals line up similarly with “diligence” as I define it, “pushing forward with excellence.”

What is your word or resolution for 2016?

About Gretchen E K Engel

Chemical engineer by day, spec fiction writer by night

Leave a Reply

