4 Comments

A Steady Pace

A couple of years ago my dad and I decided to take two of our new thoroughbreds for a test ride.

12435841_10204854409751145_1071059751_n

The ride started out pretty good. My dad’s horse, the taller of the two, had been a little nervous in the beginning but quickly calmed as we made our way down the trail. My horse, Gryphon, had a stockier build and seemed to be pretty low key. He was so low key in fact that I felt like we were barely moving. My dad was way ahead on the trail and if you’ve ever been riding in a group you know that horses usually like to stick together.

I gave him a little nudge with my knees. “Come on.” He kept at his slow pace so I nudged him again, only this time a little harder. “Let’s go!”

In a split second we went from barely moving to flying. I’d been on fast horses before but this, this was different. How he went from an almost standstill to running so hard that I could feel his legs digging into the ground for traction, I had no idea. He was fast, scary fast.

After a minute I pulled back on the reins and we skidded to a stop. We stood there on the trail and I’m not sure who was breathing harder, Gryphon or me.

As it turned out, Gryphon had two speeds, extra slow and scary fast and there wasn’t really a happy medium between the two.

Honestly I think Gryphon and I may have this in common. It seems that I can have two speeds when facing goals or tasks, extra slow and scary fast. I can put things off then race to get them finished.

Honestly, my goal for this year is to have a steady pace, to work diligently until I reach my goals.

“Little by little, one travels far.” J.R.R. Tolkien

Do you have any special goals for this new year?

Happy New Year!

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

4 comments on “A Steady Pace

  1. Nice. I have a horse story too. It’s…not pretty. Let’s suffice to say I don’t ride anymore.

    But, my goals seem the same as always. Be a good dad. Be a good husband. Be a good servant of the Most High God. And I’ve not gotten all of them right yet, not even once.

    But I want to write four books this year while working full time. I want to see if I can keep that “blistering” (or, as you so ably said, “Scary Fast”) pace this coming year. So far, not so good. I can’t even get one off the starting blocks. But I’m not giving up. I’m not. Going back to work after two weeks off is going to be a great motivator, I’m sure.

    So, write four this year, publish no fewer than three. 🙂

  2. Brittany, used to love to ride, jump, too. I like your horse story. All creatures can surprise us. 🙂

    I want to write at a steady pace this year, too. Finish one book, finish it well. That would be a good year. And update my two websites. Spiritually coach five people.

    Will definitely need the LORD’s help. I’m the kind that steps off the trail, nibbles, browses and then gets distracted by a “Shiny new thing!” I pray for spec writing partner(s) who spur each other on. How’s that for a bad pun!

    A blessed New Year to you and yours,
    Karen

    • Yes, finishing one book well is my goal too. After September I want to start the second.
      I totally understand the whole distracted thing!
      And there is no such thing as a bad pun. 😉
      Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

