5 Comments

Focus

I check my account for the third or was it the thirtieth time?

Ok, I still have enough funds to buy one more Christmas gift, one more should be enough. I do the math in my head yet again. On second thought, maybe I should just quit while I’m ahead. My car may still need gas before my next paycheck.

56ac412cbfcce710643423a5eeb96790

I worry about so many things during Christmas.

I worry about money and gifts and the wrapping of gifts. My domestic side is a little underdeveloped.

I worry about all of the calories I’m consuming.

I worry about the writing, editing, and blogging I’m not getting done because I’m just too busy!

I worry about the fact that I’m spending so much of my time worrying!

Do you see where I’m headed with this? 😉

Maybe worry isn’t my little seasonal problem. Maybe the holiday season just makes it super apparent. I can be so busy worrying and focusing on minor things that I miss the central point.

It’s not about the presents and the calories and all the things I’m too busy to get done. It’s not about trying to work up enough holiday spirit to offset the fact that I’m not seven but twenty-seven this year and for some reason it doesn’t really feel like Christmas yet.

C.S Lewis said that true humility isn’t thinking less of yourself; it’s thinking of yourself less.

That really hits home for me. The one thing all of my worries have in common is me. My focus is on my ability to get things done, to control certain situations, to just make things work. When my focus is centralized around myself I stress out.

So if I have a misplaced focus all I need to do is shift that focus, right? If Christmas is about celebrating the birth of Jesus and He’s the one who saved my life it’s pretty easy to see where my focus should be. I mean it should be simple but those worries, they seem to slip in so easily. We live in a real world with real, normal problems. It’s boots on the ground every day. I mean, we may not have orcs or the Capitol trying to wreck our lives but we do have spiritual battles and bills and relationship difficulties that can so easily overwhelm us.

For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” Romans 8:15 ESV

I love this verse. My focus shouldn’t be centralized on my problems or even in my ability to solve them. My focus should be on my Father.

And that sort of focus is one that’s built on relationship. It’s spending time with Him, talking to Him, reading His words, just being honest with Him about my heart.

When I do that, the things I’m worried about begin to fall into their proper places. I’m not saying that they disappear or that I don’t have to take steps to deal with them. But when my focus is on the Lord those worries and fears stop being my main focus. It’s freeing.

I know I sort of rambled a bit here but it was something that was on my mind and maybe it’s been on yours too.

In these last few days before Christmas let’s take some time out from the craziness around us to spend it with the Lord.

Merry Christmas!

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

5 comments on “Focus

  1. Excellent post. A pleasure to read. We do worry so much about so many different things. Happy holidays.

  2. Merry Christmas, Brittany. Don’t worry…I read the book. It all turns out okay in the end. 🙂

Leave a Reply

