15 Comments

Propaganda and Double Standards: It’s the Liberal Way

I recently saw this image posted by a friend on Facebook.

salvation armyThe person who posted it commented, “Good to know.” They just bought into this narrative that a group that is genuinely doing good is somehow “bad” because they stick with their religious convictions. Make no mistake: The Salvation Army IS a charity. They are a church-based organization and as such abide by faith-based principles. And they do a lot of good. They help homeless people and provide jobs and do all manner of useful things. According to this statistics page, they have served almost 19 million people with basic social services. They have served over 30 million people in various capacities and have served close to 60 million meals and provided lodgings for more than 10 million, not to mention their many other services.

EDIT: Yes, the Salvation Army is a church. They’re not trying to hide that fact. It’s right there in the name: Salvation Army. Their primary goal is to share their faith. So what? They’re doing it by feeding the hungry, clothing the naked, sheltering the homeless, giving gifts to the orphans and children whose parents are in prison (Angel Tree, anyone?), and meeting countless other real, tangible needs.

And notice, those who would have you stop giving to the Salvation Army are not offering an alternative charity that also helps the homeless. They throw out a couple other random charities, both foreign, but offer no suggestions for those wishing to help locally. A vast majority of food banks and homeless shelters and other resources for the homeless and needy within the United States are run by faith-based organizations. But because they have Bible-based values, the liberal propagandists would have people boycott them completely.

And yet, it’s completely the opposite if it’s a program or service they like. Planned Parenthood gets a free pass for murdering babies and selling their body parts because of “all the good” they do and how “necessary” they are for women’s health. (If you don’t believe that Planned Parenthood kills babies and profits from their deaths in multiple ways, you are willfully ignorant. The undercover videos alone give plenty of proof. Even PP themselves didn’t deny those were their people saying those things. They said things like “heavy editing,” of which there is no proof, and “tissue donation,” and they denied what they were doing was wrong, but they don’t deny the facts of it.)

So, while Planned Parenthood gets to do whatever they want because of all the good they do, the Salvation Army is demonized despite all the good they do.

This liberal propaganda applies to other things, too.

I recently saw a meme that was similar to this one (that I couldn’t find when I tried to look it up again), only it also included banning immigration. It specifically attacked conservatives, claiming they want to “ban immigration” and “ban birth control.” The left takes a common stereotype, multiplies it by a thousand, and claims it as fact.

banning things

For example, conservatives don’t want to ban immigration, only illegal immigration. Conservatives are all for people immigrating legally, paying taxes into the system that is supporting them, and conforming to local laws. It’s just those who want to skip the steps (the same types of steps that EVERY OTHER industrialized country has for immigration, by the way) to come legally and sneak in and work under the table that conservatives want to stop.

Conservatives don’t want to ban all birth control, they just don’t want to force someone to pay for someone else’s specific types of birth control if it goes against their beliefs.

But the liberals do this over and over, and as the political climate heats up this year, it’s only getting worse. Politics are not about finding the best person for the job any more, they’re about slamming the other guy so your “side” wins.

Neither political party is free of guilt on this one, but the propaganda from the left seems to be getting worse by the minute. It’s what they do. They use lies and manipulation to make a point, and people just buy into whatever they say because they don’t want to be held accountable to objective moral truth.

 

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

15 comments on “Propaganda and Double Standards: It’s the Liberal Way

  1. Well said, Avily. I disagree with you about the left being worse than the right. I think because you are on the right it feels that way to you. But as a centrist I see both sides being equally guilty. Which is why so many people like me refuse to take sides.

    But the main point is that we need to do our homework about charitable giving and political matters alike. I’m with you there.

    • I’m actually independent. I lean more libertarian than anything, but I see your point. And yes, both sides are guilty.

      • Whether it happens on the right or the left, it amazes me when someone can point out a flaw in the talking points of their political opponents while remaining blind that, in taking the opposite stands, their side commits the same logical flaw, only in reverse.

  2. Well said, and bold to say so on a non-political forum. There are a lot of other points about leftist statements I could offer here, but then, I don’t consider myself politically savvy enough to defend my position if I have to, so I generally stay quiet.

    But I’ve been listening to the Casting Crowns Christmas song “While You Were Sleeping” and still weep when I hear the line “As we’re sung to sleep by philosophies/That save the trees and kill the children”.

    My wife – very active and aware politically – used a similar phrase about saving the whales and murdering babies, before she ever heard the song. The whole thing is so upside down, so incredibly upside down.

    I like Salvation Army. And no one will tell me not to give to them. Period. But I’m glad I never saw that meme attacking them. Unfortunately, because a lot of people I associate with online are liberals (it comes part and parcel with being a writer or artist, it seems, sadly), I see a lot more conservative and Christian bashing than I can stomach. I’ve had to stop reading posts from some, and try to get others to stop reading mine (or “Un-Friend” me on Facebook, I guess) by posting a lot of Bible verses and Jews for Jesus/Zola Levitt Ministries graphics and stuff.

    I suppose I’ll have to redouble my efforts. 🙂

    Merry Christmas Avily! God bless you and your family this holiday season!

    • I have many, many liberal friends, and for the most part I enjoy their posts about their lives and their senses of humor, while ignoring their political posts. But every now and then I see something like this that really riles me up, because it is complete lies and for no good reason other than because it’s religiously based. The left prides itself on being “for the people” and helping the needy and they’re all for redistributing wealth, but they want to close down the people that are voluntarily giving of their time and money to help the needy and poor.

      • Don’t get me wrong – I have liberal friends who don’t jam their political opinions down my throat, too. I don’t suppose they were included in my statements. Sadly, though, MOST of my liberal friends – and it gets worse the closer we get to election year cycles – only seem to be online to propagate their opinions and views.

        Maybe I should spend less time online and more time volunteering to help the helpless. Or, y’know…writing. In the end, what I see or don’t is up to me I guess.

        Merry Christmas.

      • OH, and if you’re an independent, I encourage you to check out the Constitution party. It’s the one I claim membership to, but YMMV.

        http://www.constitutionparty.com/

  3. To bring this around to writing,this evidences how humans filter data differently from one another and these filters can cause different folks to look at the same evidence and reach different conclusions. It can drive conflict, character motivation, etc. to know what a character’s filters are and trying to see through the eyes of a character with very different filters than yours is challenging. .

  4. It’s what you do when you can’t make a logical, fact based argument.

  5. Jesus said, “Blessed are you, when they shall revile you, and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil things against you falsely, because of Me.” This is but one example of thousands. This transcends politics. The root of those words posted up there is hatred of God, hatred of Jesus, hatred of the Truth. Of course the Left twists and employs the double standard, you are so right. Sometimes the Right does that too. But the heart of this thing is spiritual, not political. The spiritual hatred of God, the things of God and the people of God spills over into a political expression. In light of that, let’s also do what Jesus said, and let’s pray for our enemies who did this. Christus victor!

  6. […] Propaganda and Double Standards: It’s the Liberal Way — Avily Jerome […]

Leave a Reply

