6 Comments

Welcome to December

10K TeeI pretty much skipped blogging for all of November. I blogged the first week, talking about my NaNoWriMo project, but then between NaNo and Thanksgiving, I unprioritized blogging in a big way.

NaNoWriMo was awesome. I met several personal goals.

I completed my 50K word count on the 21st, so I didn’t have to worry about writing over Thanksgiving when I had family in town. I attribute that primarily to doing word sprints every evening with my Realm Makers buddies.

I accomplished a 10K day. That’s something I never really thought was possible for me. I know how long it takes me to write just a couple thousand words, and meeting my goal of 2K per day in years past has been a struggle. Between kids and life and everything else, 10K never even seemed feasible enough to wish for. But, during my writing sprints, one day I got over 4K and I realized, hey, I could actually do this thing. So I made a plan with a friend, and worked it out with my husband for a day when he was home and could be largely in charge of the kids and household, and sat at my computer all day typing. And I did it.

And, I completed my story. I was aiming for about a 50K word story, since it’s a Middle-Grade story not a full-length novel, and I finished it out at about 54K. And I have to say, it’s pretty awesome. I still have plenty of work to do smoothing it out and fleshing out my characters and settings and stuff, but I’m really happy with how it turned out.

So what’s next?

In my immediate future, I’m working on getting the January issue of Havok Magazine ready to launch. The theme is Inferno, so get ready for lots of hot stories!

And my personal projects are…numerous. I’m working on finishing the novel I started for NaNoWriMo last year, a psychological suspense. I’m going to take a short break from this year’s project before jumping back into editing it.

Probably my biggest new venture, though, is launching some new things on my personal website. I’m going to be writing a series of writing craft tips for new authors. Those folks who haven’t been writing long enough to really know some of the terms and basic elements that make good craft, but who are looking to find out.

I’m also launching my editing services business. My specialty is going to be newer writers, in more of a mentoring capacity. My focus is those writers who have finished something and don’t really know what the next step is. The people who aren’t ready for a full, professional edit, but who need a personal touch to point them in the right direction.

I would love it if you’d stop by my website, http://www.avilyjerome.com, and take a look around. I’m always open to feedback.

 

 

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

6 comments on “Welcome to December

  1. Great idea to know your exact target client for editing / mentoring. There are a lot of editing services out there, but I haven’t noticed any stating that precise focus. A needed niche!

  2. Thanks!
    That’s what I noticed too, Teddi. I remember when I first started submitting manuscripts and getting form letter after form letter of rejection, I had no idea what I was doing wrong or how to make it better. I really needed someone who had more experience and knew a bit about writing craft to show me what I was doing and how to improve it. And that’s what I want to do for others.

  3. Hey, Lookit you! You duditz!

    Congratulations! And WOW – a 10K day! W00t! Nice, nice! In fact, if this is the aliens-take-human-kids-captive-in-space story, I’m sort of looking forward to finding out when it’s ready for public view. 🙂 Are you going trad, or will you indie?

    I’m headed over to your site now and have a look around. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Thank you!
      Yes, it is that story. I have no idea when it will be ready for public consumption. I would prefer to go traditional, but I may go indie if the opportunity for traditional doesn’t arise. We shall see.
      Thanks! And happy Thanksgiving to you, as well!

  4. […] the end of last year, I hinted about upcoming projects I was going to be unveiling on my […]

Leave a Reply

