3 Comments

Two Worlds

“Whoa! Wait just a sec.”

My coworker stops talking about her trip to Ireland and gives me a blank stare.

Oops! I’ve done it again, curses on writer’s brain. “No, I want to hear the rest,” I say as I fumble with my cell and start typing. “Your story just gave me an awesome idea for my book and I have to write it down before I forget!”

She just shakes her head and laughs while I record my new idea.

Thank goodness she’s already pretty used to my scatterbrained ways.

tumblr_m6a2mwEdNO1r1jlzoo1_500

They come to me as I’m doing dishes, hanging out with friends, driving to work, in the last conscious moments before I go to sleep; it’s those snatches of dialogue, interesting bits of information, unexpected plot twists. If anyone knew exactly what was going on in my head at a given time, they’d label me as completely bonkers!

To be honest, I’m learning to embrace the voices in my head and just sort of roll with it.

Have you ever read a book where the main character is torn between two worlds? That’s kind of how I feel on most days, torn between the real world and the world struggling to come out on the page.

I wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

3 comments on “Two Worlds

  1. I know just what you mean about torn between two worlds. I’m confident, fit, secure, tall, lean, wealthy. But then I wake up and find I’m still me. *Sigh*

  2. I relate SO much to this. Little things remind me of my book, and bang, I’m in story mode. Not only that, but my WIP *is* about a young man juggling life in two different worlds…quite literally, in his case! 😀

    • That is so great! And you can really relate to your character. 🙂 Also, I’m glad I’m not the only one running around with half my head somewhere else, lol!

Leave a Reply

