2 Comments

Winning Defined

I just “won” NaNoWriMo for the third time in four years. That is I wrote 50,000 words in one 30-day month. But really in some ways it was my fourth time. If this year’s project hadn’t been a redo of 2013 when I only got 40,009-ish words, I would say so for sure.

nanowrimo

I am not a fan of participation trophies. Okay actually I am. Just not in lieu of having winners and losers. On the spur of the moment, I ran a 5K race Thanksgiving Day. I didn’t even come close to winning. In fact they stopped recording times two minutes before I crossed the finish line. While I didn’t earn an award, I did earn a participation ribbon. They didn’t give them out at this race, but  I did get one when I ran a half-marathon last year.

NaNoWriMo is the same way, all participants deserve “ribbons”. All who even wrote a few hundred words did more than if they didn’t try at all.

So to all NaNoWriMo 2016 participants whether you wrote 1,000 words or kept going after 50,000, you all deserve recognition.

Did you try NaNoWriMo this year? If so, how did you do?

About Gretchen E K Engel

Chemical engineer by day, spec fiction writer by night

2 comments on “Winning Defined

  1. Yes, I participated this year. I didn’t reach 5,000 words, much less 50,000 but it doesn’t bother me. It’s 4,000+ words that I didn’t have before, and I know the reasons that I didn’t finish. Other things were more important to focus on.

    As usual, watching others achieve consistent writing goals is inspiring and it reminds me of what CAN be done. I look forward to setting up a more consistent writing schedule in the coming months.

Leave a Reply

