8 Comments

The Gift of Writing

I tossed my notebook on the couch and hauled myself up the stairs for my third cup of coffee. I should never have procrastinated on this. The problem wasn’t working itself out and I’d come at it from every angle I could imagine. To top it off, it was the sort of problem I had to solve now. Everything I edited or wrote after this point hinged on it.

editing-face-meme

I made another pot of coffee, worked on the problem until late that night, but still didn’t have the answer. I asked my family to pray for the Lord to give me clarity and direction. Still, I went to bed feeling anxious about it. I really needed to push past this issue and get busy.

The next morning I prayed again and headed off to work, still no answer. I thought about it all through the day. Finally something clicked. The pieces began to fall into place. Things I had no idea were really important, suddenly helped to make everything work. For the most part, I had my answer. I could dive back in and finish my editing. Yes!

writing-fantasy-1920x1200

This week I’m thankful for the gift of writing.

Writing isn’t easy. There are days when it feels like I’m moving a ginormous pile of gravel with a plastic teaspoon. But in the end, it’s more rewarding than I ever could have imagined.

Is there something the Lord has done for you this week in your writing or in another area?

 

 

 

 

 

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

8 comments on “The Gift of Writing

  1. The Lord does stuff like that for me all the time. I blog about it when I recognize it, because I want to have it recorded for posterity.

    The last book I finished was the second of a series. The problem is, book one isn’t “finished” yet. (It technically is, but isn’t ready for anyone to see publicly at this point. I’m beginning a new rewrite on that now. *Sigh*) And, there’s a third book which I started way back in 2008, which I never finished, but the basic story is in place in my head.

    So while I hammered on that book two in the spring, I had one revelation after another drop on me like manna from heaven. It was bizarre, and I found a story line that wove its way through book two, leading to the story in that unfinished book three, and backward into book one. The whole thing was tied together in a tight little bundle, all signed sealed and delivered, in my opinion, by the Lord.

    It was amazing. I’m still left in awe when I look over the entire arc. Each story is a full stand-alone book which has a common thread tying them all together. Very cool – and not something I planned or intended.

    Whether God unscrewed the lid from my head and poured that idea in, or whether He simply gave me a strong enough creative mind to really do that on my own with the talent He gave me, I don’t know. I do know it’s Him at the core, either way, and for that, I’m very grateful.

    I love it when things just work like that, don’t you? 🙂

  2. Oh yeah, that happens to me, too. My current WIP, I didn’t like the climax as sketched in my outline–the bad guy raises a demon, which the heroes have to kill in book 3. Meh. That’s been done, and I don’t like writing demons. There’s no emotional connection with a big nasty–I might as well feature a cockroach.

    So I thought and thought and chewed on it for a couple of days. I asked Hod for ideas. Then it hit me, where the book really wanted to go–I had set up a big Rule about what necromancy could and could not do. But there was a loophole, and I could exploit it to the hilt. It would shatter my hero. That’s what I want–more emotional torment to carry the next book!

    So yeah, it happens. 🙂

  3. Absolutely. Out of all of the stories I’ve written, this current set of WIPs are ones I have prayed over the most. We’ll see where they go!

  4. Keep me posted!

Leave a Reply

