1 Comment

Thankful for Community

Thanksgiving is right around the corner.

I know this because Christmas decorations are already filling the halls of Walmart. Love it or hate it, you know what I’m talking about. I will confess, hangs head in shame, that I’ve already watched a couple of Hallmark Christmas movies. 😉 But that’s a story for another day.

4b8a9cf0bdd81e5ebd3aeaba2a29363631c156c88b37f065c35e1eebbdab62ee

Have you seen those posts floating around Facebook, the ones listing what a person is thankful for each day? I thought it might be a good idea to write about one thing in particular that I’m thankful for each week until Thanksgiving. I’ve noticed that I can so easily focus on the things I’m not thankful for that I don’t even see the blessings right in front of me. Maybe it’s something you struggle with too.

This week I’m thankful for community.

Community-Calendar

1.) For the community of family: They know my worst side and my best but they’re always there for me. I’m so grateful for them, for their love, encouragement, and listening ears. Besides the Lord, they’re the most important people in my life.

2.) For the community of church family: I think I’m more grateful for this this year as we’ve been searching for a church home for a little while now. From the day we set foot in our church we’ve felt very welcomed and loved.

3.) For the community of friends: Quite a few of my friends have moved away in the past few years. I’m really grateful for the times when we can get together. Most of the time it feels like no time has passed at all and we just pick back up from where we left off.

4.) For the community of writers: We may not see each other all the time, we may have never seen each other at all but I’m grateful for you. You encourage and inspire me.

Is there anything you’re particularly thankful for this year, maybe something seemingly small that happened even today? You can share it in the comments or just jot it down for yourself as a reminder.

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

One comment on “Thankful for Community

  1. At our house we do this cool thing were we take a big jar, and some colored paper, and whenever we recognize a blessing for that day, we write it down and toss it in the jar with the date on it. Then, on New Year’s Eve, we open each one and read them. It reminds us in a visceral way of the Love and Provision of God, and the blessings He heaps upon us daily.

    It’s always good to count your blessings when you can.

    I also am grateful for you.; You remind me that I’m not unique on my journey as a writer. Lots of the stuff you experience mirrors what I’ve been through.

    Happy Thanksgiving if we don’t talk beforehand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

