4 Comments

Being Intentional

I can’t think straight.

I lean into the counter at my teller station. My vision blurs a little and nausea washes over me. I’ve let my blood sugar get too low and now I’m crashing.

low_blood_sugar

To any outside observer, I appear fine, maybe a little tired. Inside, I feel awful. My hands are trembling. I reach into my bag and pull out my glucose tablets to buy some time before my lunch break. The chalky pills are hard to chew and even harder to swallow but they’re all I have on me.

To top it off, I know it’s totally my fault. I’ve not been watching the sort of foods I eat and I’ve not been keeping emergency supplies around. I struggle with hypoglycemia and I know better.

How often does my spiritual life look like this?

Do I look fine on the outside but inside feel a mess? I’m not talking about a works salvation but I do know the times when I’m actively seeking the Lord’s presence and when I’m not.

Am I feeding myself the right spiritual foods? Am I in the word? Am I spending time talking to the Lord? Am I obeying and trusting him or just going through the motions?

It really doesn’t matter what we look like on the outside, does it?

In the same way that I have to be intentional about keeping my blood sugar under control, I also have to be intentional about pursuing my relationship with God.

I want to be more intentional about the things in my life. I want to be more intentional in my relationship with the Lord, with my family, with the people around me. I want to be more intentional with my writing.

What’s an area you need to be more intentional in?

His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence 2 Peter 1:3

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

4 comments on “Being Intentional

  1. Good analogy / anecdote from your life, Brittany. It’s easy to neglect even the most important things if we let ourselves get distracted. Priorities and focus are huge.

    I’m trying to be more intentional about all my relationships: God, family, friends, etc. Without those, what am I? Nothing. Nothing I produce or do matters apart from those things which affect eternity. Everything is about relationship.

  2. First: Are you all right? I hope this didn’t lead to anything worse. I mean, of course you recovered, but…doggone. Scary.

    Second: Please, do be intentional with your health. I have to watch what I eat too, but for different reasons.

    Third: I like the areas you listed for intentional targeting. Very good stuff. I did something I didn’t think I’d be able to do a couple last night (as I write this), but I know the battle is daily, maybe even hourly, to make time for all we need to make time for.

    Fight on. And remember – the battle’s already been won. We just have to carry out the motions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

